Existing Member?

Cayte & Ian Travels

Vietnam, Tuesday April 14

VIETNAM | Tuesday, 14 Apr 2015 | Views [205]

Our first stop for the day was the `Hanoi Hilton` as it was colloquially known by the US  POWs or Hoa La Prison Museum.  It mainly deals with the French occupancy, but there is one section about the US pilots who were incarcerated there - ... Read more >


Vietnam, Monday April 13

VIETNAM | Monday, 13 Apr 2015 | Views [225]

A long day but not a tough one. We caught the bus from Sapa to Lao Cai where we stopped and checked out China. It was just across the river, it was quite weird. I did ask if we could walk across the bridge and back, but as our Visa for Vietnam is single ... Read more >


Vietnam, Sunday April 12

VIETNAM | Sunday, 12 Apr 2015 | Views [219]

In the morning we took the bus, with our excellent driver, Su Mi, and went down to the Binh Lu markets.  The markets were not particularly interesting in themselves, but the hour long drive goes through some of the most spectacular scenery in North ... Read more >


Vietnam, Saturday April 11

VIETNAM | Saturday, 11 Apr 2015 | Views [207]

Both woke up slowly this morning.  I fully expected to freeze overnight but the heater works and the bed was good. We went for a walk all together round the centre of town with David explaining what was what particularly with the minority groups ... Read more >


Vietnam, Friday April 10

VIETNAM | Friday, 10 Apr 2015 | Views [209]

Left our motel and spent most of the morning at Tai Bai (Hue) airport as our plane was late. Arrived in Hanoi and it was cold (OK cold according to Cayte). Got on our far too small bus and headed for Sapa. Interesting journey crammed in with our luggage, ... Read more >


Vietnam, Thursday April 9

VIETNAM | Thursday, 9 Apr 2015 | Views [203]

Happy wedding anniversary to us!! 27 years...... Scary. Started the day with a cyclo ride to the Imperial City. It was interesting, and the Vietnamese are currently putting a lot of work into recreating it exactly as it was because it was damaged significantly ... Read more >


Vietnam Wednesday April 8

VIETNAM | Wednesday, 8 Apr 2015 | Views [198]

Left Hoi An and drove towards Danang. This is a very touristy area with many resorts (some under construction) on the sea side blocking all access to visitors and tourists alike and the other side has lots of golf courses. We stopped at Marble Mountain ... Read more >


Vietnam Tuesday April 7

VIETNAM | Tuesday, 7 Apr 2015 | Views [169]

Started the day with a bike ride. Road about 15km. Some of it was very pleasant and picturesque on roads that didn't allow anything bigger than a motor bike. The rest of it was scary!! Easy riding though as the country is so flat. Stopped at the porcelain ... Read more >


Vietnam, Monday April 6

VIETNAM | Monday, 6 Apr 2015 | Views [199]

Happy birthday Rex🍻.  Today was a resorty sort of day. We organised a couple of housekeeping things and then caught the bus to the beach. Rather interesting!  Much of the beach has been washed away by monsoon resulting in a large cutaway ... Read more >


Vietnam, Sunday April 5

VIETNAM | Sunday, 5 Apr 2015 | Views [196]

Happy Easter to one and all!!!  Have added a few extra photos - look in the photos area for these just below all the Vietnam stories.  Another stroll around the centre of Hoi An with David and Sandra pointing out some of the attractions, ... Read more >


Vietnam, Saturday April 4

VIETNAM | Saturday, 4 Apr 2015 | Views [177]

Another early rise, and checkout of Saigon.  We made our way out to the Cu Chi for a tour of the tunnels and the displays that went with them - the way the VietCong operated in and around the tunnels - their weapons, how they cooked, how they disguised ... Read more >


Vietnam, Friday April 3

VIETNAM | Friday, 3 Apr 2015 | Views [263]

This morning it was off to the War Remnants Museum. There were quite a few old planes and tanks that were left behind from what we call the Vietnam war. The Vietnamese call it the American war. Inside the building was a large photo display which ... Read more >


Vietnam, Thursday April 2

VIETNAM | Thursday, 2 Apr 2015 | Views [134]

Today was another busy day.  We had a look around Saigon. We went to the Opera House, the Post Office, Notre Dam, the markets and a lacquer factory for a quick look, but the main part of the morning was spent at the now Reunification Palace which ... Read more >


Vietnam, Wednesday April 1

VIETNAM | Wednesday, 1 Apr 2015 | Views [155]

Huge day today.  Started with an early morning trip (yes 5.30am) to the Cai Rang floating markets which is basically a wholesale market of all types of seasonal fruit and vegetables all traded from boats - even cafe ones where you can buy drinks ... Read more >


Vietnam, Tuesday March 31

VIETNAM | Tuesday, 31 Mar 2015 | Views [153]

We started the day with the most sumptuous breakfast - miso soup, crepes, home-made yoghurts, fresh fruit, and much much more available. We then went on a small boat to a fish farm which is a basically a house on water with a big cage of fish below it ... Read more >


Vietnam, Monday March 30

VIETNAM | Monday, 30 Mar 2015 | Views [225]

Today was a very relaxed day and I'm always surprised at how tired you can get from doing very little. We started the day late and went by the Foreign Correspondents Club, The club was very reminiscent of colonial style and we whiled away a bit ... Read more >


Cambodia, Sunday March 29

CAMBODIA | Monday, 30 Mar 2015 | Views [189]

Happy birthday Janice. Today we started the day with a visit to the Royal Palace. As you would expect everything was rather ornate.   T he current king is a 63-year-old bachelor.  The piece de resistance was a Buddha with 90kg ... Read more >


Cambodia Saturday March 28

AUSTRALIA | Saturday, 28 Mar 2015 | Views [279]

 Departed Siam Reap for Phnom Penh. On the way we stopped at a roadside stall where we tried a local lunch of cooked sticky rice in a bamboo stick - it was really yummy. Then on to a local rural school. The children did not speak English and referred ... Read more >


Cambodia Friday March 27

CAMBODIA | Friday, 27 Mar 2015 | Views [270]

Ian on the mend!  Got up at 5 to head out to watch the sunrise over Angkor Wat.  Was lovely to watch but due to cloud cover was not as spectacular as it could have been.  Had a monkey put on a show not 5 foot in front of us stealing food ... Read more >


Cambodia, Thursday March 26

CAMBODIA | Thursday, 26 Mar 2015 | Views [289]

Ian not feeling so crash hot today - but he decided to brave it and it was worth the effort.  We started with Angkor Thom and then the Banyon temple. From there we went to the Elephant Terrace and Preah Kdei.  it is incredible, all these huge ... Read more >


< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next >

About europe2013

Om Marble Mountain

Where I've been

Photo Galleries

My trip journals


See all my tags