Existing Member?

Cayte & Ian Travels

Germany

There are [58] photos and [31] stories about Germany


See more photos from Germany >


Munich, Sunday 5 November 2017

Sunday, 5 Nov 2017 | Views [32]

Up and farewelled Brydie :(.  It was a day for sounds.  We first went to the Frauenkirche to try and see inside while there was no service – and instead scored a full mass with a choir and pipe organ – just magnificent in the old ... Read more >


Munich, Saturday 4 November 2017

Saturday, 4 Nov 2017 | Views [16]

For our full last day on the continent, Brydie and I sent Ian off to the Deutsches Flying museum out near the airport and we had some retail therapy.  Both of us looked at lots and spent some so a good day.  Ian enjoyed the museum, but perhaps ... Read more >


Fussen, Friday 3 November 2017

Friday, 3 Nov 2017 | Views [44]

Today was our day in Füssen and it was perfect apart from the “rise and shine” part of the day. (added by Ian – Caytie was totally hungover). Caught the train to Füssen and were met by beautiful sunshine which we put to great ... Read more >


Munich, Thursday 2 November 2017

Thursday, 2 Nov 2017 | Views [34]

Had more luck with the Deutsches museum. A science and technology museum that has lots of hands on - we just had to elbow the school children out of the way :).  Then off to the Royal Residence - the main home of the Bavarian Wittelsbach family.... Read more >


Munich, Wednesday 1 November 2017

Wednesday, 1 Nov 2017 | Views [31]

Treated ourselves to a slow start this morning – today is another public holiday here and we are struggling to find what is open as they close nearly everything on public holidays and Sundays.  We headed off to the Deutsches museum of Science ... Read more >


Munich, Tuesday 31 October 2017

Tuesday, 31 Oct 2017 | Views [26]

Kept the final bus trip included in our ticket for the better weather and headed out to Nymphenburg Palace which was the summer residence of the Wittelsbach family who ruled Bavaria from 1180 to 1918.  It was a beautiful palace and the public can ... Read more >


Salzburg to Munich, Monday 30 October 2017

Monday, 30 Oct 2017 | Views [23]

Last morning in Salzburg.  This motel has been excellent.  It breakfast has been the best for our whole trip and the staff are delightful and helpful – will be a bit sad to go.  Caught the train to Munich and we had a first-class ... Read more >


Salzburg, Saturday 28 October 2017

Saturday, 28 Oct 2017 | Views [48]

The other place we wished to do from here was Eagles Nest and Berchtesgaden.  They would not guarantee the trip due to weather and in fact they don’t run it post October at all.  It seemed that it would go so we caught the tour bus and ... Read more >


Dresden to Prague, Wednesday 11 October, 2017

Wednesday, 11 Oct 2017 | Views [59]

Up and straight to the Royal Palace museum.  We were able to secure tickets to the Green Vault but with an hour to kill before our time, we started with the Turkish chamber and the Armoury both of which were excellent.  But the vault was even ... Read more >


Dresden, Tuesday 10 October

Tuesday, 10 Oct 2017 | Views [62]

We headed off to take advantage of the free walking tours that our bus ticket entitles us to.  One of the amazing things about Dresden is the lack of any English-speaking tourists and the locals were intrigued as to why we came all the way from ... Read more >


Berlin to Dresden, Monday 9 October, 2017

Monday, 9 Oct 2017 | Views [50]

As we leave Berlin, I will note that we have done very well – we have not yet been run over despite continually looking the wrong way every time we cross the road – our friendly Ampelmann have been helpful but they are not always there to ... Read more >


Berlin, Sunday 8 October 2017

Sunday, 8 Oct 2017 | Views [73]

Our last day in Berlin and the weather was beautiful.  We headed off to the Deutsches Technikmuseum.  Navigated the U Bahn successfully by ourselves.  The museum was amazing.  Had a huge air and space display – both pre and ... Read more >


Berlin, Saturday 7 October 2017

Saturday, 7 Oct 2017 | Views [46]

With the weather continuing to be miserable we decided on a museum day – and there are some great ones here.  Museum Island is right near where we are staying and we went the Neues Museum and the Alte National Galerie.  The Neues Museum ... Read more >


Berlin, Friday 6 October 2017

Friday, 6 Oct 2017 | Views [41]

Went for a wander to Marienkirche, one of the oldest churches in the city.  It dates prior to the 11 th century but no one is exactly sure when. It has the most amazing murals which appear to support Eric Von Danniken’s theories on aliens.... Read more >


Berlin, Thursday 5 October 2017

Thursday, 5 Oct 2017 | Views [68]

I love German breakfasts 😊.  Especially after 12 hours sleep.  Spent the morning in the Bode museum on Museum Island which is literally outside our door.  Our accommodation is good and so well placed.  Walking distance to almost ... Read more >


Berlin, Wednesday 4 October 2017

Wednesday, 4 Oct 2017 | Views [44]

Arrived in Germany and made it to the motel where our room was ready early so we got to shower!!  Kerstin arrived to pick us up for a day of being touristy.  Was great to see her again.  It’s just like she has never been away when ... Read more >


Photos: Europe2017

Tuesday, 3 Oct 2017 | Photo Gallery


See all 73 photos >>
 


In transit, Tuesday 3 October 2017

Tuesday, 3 Oct 2017 | Views [49]

Big thanks to Maddy for dropping us to the airport. Then Tuesday was just a day of sitting in planes and walking in terminals where we had the chance.  We were in the centre of the plane so did not even see anything special – but I did have ... Read more >


Thursday 1 August

Thursday, 1 Aug 2013 | Views [265]

Flew out of Cologne. Ute and Kerstin dropped us the airport.  Left feeling incredibly spoilt as they looked after us like you would not believe and we had a wonderful time.  Sad to go :(  Landed safely in Edinburgh.  Our car had ... Read more >


Wednesday 31 July

Wednesday, 31 Jul 2013 | Views [181]

Today Kerstin drove us on the autobahn to the Dokumentationsstätte Regierungsbunker that was to be the Parliaments protection from nuclear attack drug the Cold War.  It went 20km underground and was interesting.  Weird having Kerstin ... Read more >


View more stories from Germany
1 2 Next >
 

 

Travel Answers about Germany

Do you have a travel question? Ask other World Nomads.