Existing Member?

Cayte & Ian Travels

Trip: Europe2013

There are [61] stories from my trip: Europe2013


Saturday 17 August

AUSTRALIA | Saturday, 17 Aug 2013 | Views [208]

Back on Australian soil after a wonderful trip.


Friday 16 August

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES | Friday, 16 Aug 2013 | Views [143]

Lost this day sitting on a plane and going backwards around the world!


Thursday 15 August

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES | Thursday, 15 Aug 2013 | Views [227]

Off to see the rest of Dubai. Went on the blue tour today and we did the whole thing checking out the sights - they don't believe in doing things by halves over here. The Palm was huge - no, enormous! The rest was interesting and then off the to the ... Read more >


Wednesday 14 August

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES | Wednesday, 14 Aug 2013 | Views [200]

Happy birthday Rookie.  Went straight to our motel  at 8am  to find that they could check us in, so we relaxed for a bit before heading off in the 42C heat to acquaint ourselves with Dubai.  Went with the trusty hop on hop off ... Read more >


Tuesday 13 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Tuesday, 13 Aug 2013 | Views [254]

All packed up to fly, luggage weight looking good and off to Oxford.  Spent the day checking out Oxford.  Went to one of the colleges - Christ Church, which during term is a living functioning part of the Uni. We booked the tour thankfully ... Read more >


Monday 12 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Monday, 12 Aug 2013 | Views [166]

Decided that Warwick Castle was the go.  Had some great memories of this and thought it would be right up Ian's tree, but since I was there last (a lot can happen in 30 years) it has gone incredibly commercial and is sort of more a kiddy theme ... Read more >


Sunday 11 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Sunday, 11 Aug 2013 | Views [147]

Had a lazy morning - the first one of them for a while before heading off to Martins for lunch with some of my English family - Pat, Martins family & Karens family (except Neil). Had a great afternoon - BBQ with some great food a few wines and great ... Read more >


Saturday 10 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Saturday, 10 Aug 2013 | Views [164]

Had a reminiscing morning.  Pat took us touring through Solihull, Knowle and Dorridge and we ended up sitting and watching the local A grade cricket at Moseley.  Ian was really impressed with the setup and his day was made when a genuine WWII ... Read more >


Friday 9 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Friday, 9 Aug 2013 | Views [203]

Started the day with a visit to Shrewsbury Abbey. An interesting building built in three stages, with the new part being completed in the 1830s. Very helpful town.  Could not walk anywhere with a map without someone offering help. Quite amazing.... Read more >


Thursday 8 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Thursday, 8 Aug 2013 | Views [178]

Reluctantly left the Bryn Howells Hotel in Llangollen as it was very nice.  We headed off to Shrewsbury via the aqua duct at Llangollen. An amazing structure - a canal used by the canal boats that is 126ft in the air running in iron channels about ... Read more >


Wednesday 7 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Wednesday, 7 Aug 2013 | Views [181]

Decided to try for the Snowdon cog railway.  We found they had put on an extra train as the weather was so good (21??) but we had a four hour wait.  So we drove into Conway and explored the castle there, built 13th century and still lots of ... Read more >


Tuesday 6 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Tuesday, 6 Aug 2013 | Views [166]

Sunshine saw us out of York and the rest of the day followed suite (mainly) but no rain!  Drove to Llangollen - two and a bit hours and we are across the country. The roads are mad - so much traffic all travelling at 70mph - yes they still operate ... Read more >


Monday 5 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Monday, 5 Aug 2013 | Views [140]

First day of consistent rain.  Can't complain about those odds! So we had an inside day.  Started with York Minster.  It is quite brilliant as they have recently dug out the Roman ruins underneath and made it into an interactive display.... Read more >


Sunday 4 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Sunday, 4 Aug 2013 | Views [128]

Left Ravenglass for a day of travelling. We first drove to Lake Windemere and had a cruise on the lake. It's very pretty.  We left there to travel through the Yorkshire Dales to Thirsk (the home of James Herriot). I really liked the countryside ... Read more >


Saturday 3 Augusy

UNITED KINGDOM | Saturday, 3 Aug 2013 | Views [187]

Headed off from Edinburgh trying to conquer the quirkiness of our Citroen hire car. It has some 'special' features which I am not sure we will figure out. Drove to Ravenglass in the Lakes District through rain but got there in the dry. Staying at Muncaster ... Read more >


Friday 2 August

UNITED KINGDOM | Friday, 2 Aug 2013 | Views [160]

Happy birthday Sophie. Started the day by climbing up to Arthur's seat.  The climb was good, the view was excellent but the wind incredible.  Literally you could be blown over. Then back to town where we explored the castle and under the city ... Read more >


Thursday 1 August

GERMANY | Thursday, 1 Aug 2013 | Views [337]

Flew out of Cologne. Ute and Kerstin dropped us the airport.  Left feeling incredibly spoilt as they looked after us like you would not believe and we had a wonderful time.  Sad to go :(  Landed safely in Edinburgh.  Our car had ... Read more >


Wednesday 31 July

GERMANY | Wednesday, 31 Jul 2013 | Views [256]

Today Kerstin drove us on the autobahn to the Dokumentationsstätte Regierungsbunker that was to be the Parliaments protection from nuclear attack drug the Cold War.  It went 20km underground and was interesting.  Weird having Kerstin ... Read more >


Tuesday 30 July

GERMANY | Tuesday, 30 Jul 2013 | Views [259]

Happy birthday Megan.  Today we went off to a genuine castle called Burg Eltz from the 12th century - not bombed or restored and been in the same family for 33 generations.  It was quite amazing.  Had Bratwurst for lunch before heading ... Read more >


Monday 29 July

GERMANY | Monday, 29 Jul 2013 | Views [228]

Had a nice sleep in and then brekkie with Kerstin before heading into Cologne. Of course we walked up the cathedral tower (552 steps each way) and had a look around the cathedral treasure and crypt. Then met up with Ute and went walking round the city ... Read more >


1 2 3 4 Next >