Existing Member?

Cayte & Ian Travels

Hong Kong, Saturday 4 August

HONG KONG | Saturday, 4 Aug 2018 | Views [48]

The hotel kindly offered us our room till 2pm so we took the small 16 seater town bus to Stanley.  They have some nice markets out there with some good stuff but sadly no food.  I find the food markets interesting over here (albeit smelly).... Read more >


Hong Kong, Friday 3 August

HONG KONG | Friday, 3 Aug 2018 | Views [37]

Up early for a tour to Lantau island.  Our company was Aussie, Irish and English – all pleasant.  Our first stop we checked out one of their best beaches (never a good thing for an Aussie considering what we have at home) and then headed ... Read more >


Hong Kong, Thursday 2 August

HONG KONG | Thursday, 2 Aug 2018 | Views [47]

Happy birthday Sophie Jet lag is no fun but ideally, we will be right by the time we hit Albury 😊.  Decided to do the tram tour.  There is basically a hop on hop off tram that give you information about Hong Kong and its past and it was ... Read more >


Hong Kong, Wednesday 1 August

HONG KONG | Wednesday, 1 Aug 2018 | Views [38]

Our plane was late getting in so didn’t get to the motel until about 3 – both quite tired.  The view on the flight in was excellent – so many small steep forest covered islands contrasted by hundreds of tall apartments blocks in ... Read more >


London, Tuesday 31 July

UNITED KINGDOM | Tuesday, 31 Jul 2018 | Views [51]

A bit of a non-day.  We spent a lazy morning with Carol and Adrian before heading off to Heathrow and catching our plane to Hong Kong.  If your day is shortened by7 hours and you must spend three hours at the airport before your flight, then ... Read more >


London, Monday 30 July

UNITED KINGDOM | Monday, 30 Jul 2018 | Views [48]

Spent the whole day out at Hampton Court Palace.  It was quite amazing.  The palace itself is in parts which are basically as they have been left by their owners.  The original Tudor palace was begun by Cardinal Wolsey in the early 16th ... Read more >


London, Sunday 29 July

UNITED KINGDOM | Sunday, 29 Jul 2018 | Views [37]

A bit of rain first thing and then basically it cleared up.  Still a nice London summer at 22 – a bit of a change from last week.  Carole came with us as we headed downstream on the Thames to check out Greenwich.  The Cutty Sark ... Read more >


London, Saturday 28 July

UNITED KINGDOM | Saturday, 28 Jul 2018 | Views [39]

Woke up to our first morning of rain.  It eased off by about 10 so all three of us headed into the Brough Markets near London Bridge.  So much good food!  Stalls of all sorts of fresh fruit and verges, seafood, meats, cheese and preserves.... Read more >


London, Friday 26 July

UNITED KINGDOM | Friday, 27 Jul 2018 | Views [45]

Up early this morning to make it into Victoria for our day trip.  First stop was Leeds Castle.  This very pretty castle has been a Norman stronghold; the private property of six of England’s medieval queens; a palace used by Henry VIII ... Read more >


London, Thursday 26 July

UNITED KINGDOM | Thursday, 26 Jul 2018 | Views [40]

Walked out the door to be greeted by a squirrel!  From that headed to 221B Baker St.  Had to queue for a bit but not as bad as what we saw later in the day.  The house which had its rooms rented in the 1800’s was done with care for ... Read more >


London, Wednesday 25 July

UNITED KINGDOM | Wednesday, 25 Jul 2018 | Views [56]

Today started at Buckingham Palace.  We went for a walk outside and then headed in for our tour of the State Rooms. A huge number of people went through as we did but it was impressive how well it was organised and did not feel particularly crowded.... Read more >


London, Tuesday 24 July

AUSTRALIA | Tuesday, 24 Jul 2018 | Views [53]

Finally got the diary up to date again before catching the bus/tube off to the hockey.  The first game was Japan v New Zealand and Japan won in a tight game.  As our seats were the other end to our crowd we wandered down and caught up to find ... Read more >


London, Monday 23 July

UNITED KINGDOM | Monday, 23 Jul 2018 | Views [51]

Again, a lazy morning, doing English things like drinking tea.  Headed out to meet Ann and Michael at Trafalgar square.  We were joined by a few of the crew including (unexpectedly) Jocie.  We headed to St Martins in the Fields –... Read more >


London, Sunday 22 July

UNITED KINGDOM | Sunday, 22 Jul 2018 | Views [39]

Had a lazy morning in before catching a red double decker into London Bridge where we discovered a lovely little spot for lunch tucked away next to Southwark Cathedral.  Great paella.  Then off to the Globe for “As You Like It”.... Read more >


Porto, Saturday 21 July

PORTUGAL | Saturday, 21 Jul 2018 | Views [56]

Up at sparrows and off to the Airport. Enjoyed out little unit.  On the first floor we were able to stand on the balcony and watch the world go by below and no one ever looked up, so it was like you were watching a drama of sorts.  We were ... Read more >


Porto, Friday 20 July

PORTUGAL | Friday, 20 Jul 2018 | Views [57]

Up and picked up for our full day tour of the Duoro valley which is the main area for the production of port wine in Portugal.  We shared our bus with four French speaking Canadians from Montreal and a honeymoon couple (Richard and Louise) from ... Read more >


Porto, Thursday 19 July

PORTUGAL | Thursday, 19 Jul 2018 | Views [48]

Headed out to see more of the old town.  Started with the water taxi over the river, then the gondola up the hill to the top of the bridge and then walked up to the North Monastery.  The sun came to the party and the photos were great. ... Read more >


Porto, Wednesday 18 July

PORTUGAL | Wednesday, 18 Jul 2018 | Views [49]

Happy birthday Asherah 😊 Today was a bit cooler and cloudy but never less we headed off to the beach for a look.  The bus took us through the city again before heading west to the beach.  As far as I was concerned it was not swimming weather, ... Read more >


Porto, Tuesday 17 July

PORTUGAL | Tuesday, 17 Jul 2018 | Views [33]

The hop on hop off bus here is cheap so we decided on the bus with the cruise with the port tasting.  It was good to see around the city even if the commentary was five minutes behind what we were seeing.  We did the whole blue circuit which ... Read more >


Lisbon, Monday 16 July

PORTUGAL | Monday, 16 Jul 2018 | Views [52]

Up and out to the train station on time – and of course the train was late, so, we didn’t make it to Porto until about 2pm.  We are now masters of negotiating the train/metro and found our way to our accommodation – and wow! ... Read more >


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next >

About europe2013

Om Marble Mountain

Where I've been

Photo Galleries

My trip journals


See all my tags