Existing Member?

Cayte & Ian Travels

Trip: Europe2017

There are [37] stories from my trip: Europe2017


Albury, Tuesday 7 November 2017

AUSTRALIA | Tuesday, 7 Nov 2017 | Views [150]

A great holiday where we saw many interesting things and had lots of excellent experiences.  Best was catching the two girls.


In the air, Monday 6 November 2017

SINGAPORE | Monday, 6 Nov 2017 | Views [202]

Queueing and sitting, and queueing and sitting


Munich, Sunday 5 November 2017

GERMANY | Sunday, 5 Nov 2017 | Views [152]

Up and farewelled Brydie :(.  It was a day for sounds.  We first went to the Frauenkirche to try and see inside while there was no service – and instead scored a full mass with a choir and pipe organ – just magnificent in the old ... Read more >


Munich, Saturday 4 November 2017

GERMANY | Saturday, 4 Nov 2017 | Views [162]

For our full last day on the continent, Brydie and I sent Ian off to the Deutsches Flying museum out near the airport and we had some retail therapy.  Both of us looked at lots and spent some so a good day.  Ian enjoyed the museum, but perhaps ... Read more >


Fussen, Friday 3 November 2017

GERMANY | Friday, 3 Nov 2017 | Views [242]

Today was our day in Füssen and it was perfect apart from the “rise and shine” part of the day. (added by Ian – Caytie was totally hungover). Caught the train to Füssen and were met by beautiful sunshine which we put to great ... Read more >


Munich, Thursday 2 November 2017

GERMANY | Thursday, 2 Nov 2017 | Views [174]

Had more luck with the Deutsches museum. A science and technology museum that has lots of hands on - we just had to elbow the school children out of the way :).  Then off to the Royal Residence - the main home of the Bavarian Wittelsbach family.... Read more >


Munich, Wednesday 1 November 2017

GERMANY | Wednesday, 1 Nov 2017 | Views [160]

Treated ourselves to a slow start this morning – today is another public holiday here and we are struggling to find what is open as they close nearly everything on public holidays and Sundays.  We headed off to the Deutsches museum of Science ... Read more >


Munich, Tuesday 31 October 2017

GERMANY | Tuesday, 31 Oct 2017 | Views [133]

Kept the final bus trip included in our ticket for the better weather and headed out to Nymphenburg Palace which was the summer residence of the Wittelsbach family who ruled Bavaria from 1180 to 1918.  It was a beautiful palace and the public can ... Read more >


Salzburg to Munich, Monday 30 October 2017

GERMANY | Monday, 30 Oct 2017 | Views [166]

Last morning in Salzburg.  This motel has been excellent.  It breakfast has been the best for our whole trip and the staff are delightful and helpful – will be a bit sad to go.  Caught the train to Munich and we had a first-class ... Read more >


Salzburg, Sunday 29 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Sunday, 29 Oct 2017 | Views [148]

Our last day in Salzburg so we decided to find the last few Sound of Music spots.  We headed out in dubious weather and came across a storm – luckily there was a sky dome (part of an art installation) available.  It has a hole in the ... Read more >


Salzburg, Saturday 28 October 2017

GERMANY | Saturday, 28 Oct 2017 | Views [180]

The other place we wished to do from here was Eagles Nest and Berchtesgaden.  They would not guarantee the trip due to weather and in fact they don’t run it post October at all.  It seemed that it would go so we caught the tour bus and ... Read more >


Salzburg, Friday 27 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Friday, 27 Oct 2017 | Views [177]

Our tour picked us up at our motel and off we went.  For the first time this trip we found an Aussie travelling with us.  Jennifer from North Melbourne, and she was good company for the tour.  We went to all the main sights from the movie ... Read more >


Zell am See to Salzburg, Thursday 26 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Thursday, 26 Oct 2017 | Views [147]

Our timing was excellent – all we could see 100m in each direction was fog.  So lucky with yesterday.  Caught the train back to Salzburg, booked in and went wandering the old town.  Found the steps and both fountains from “... Read more >


Zell am See, Wednesday 25 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Wednesday, 25 Oct 2017 | Views [150]

I think we are the only people in this accommodation – it is great 😊.  We chatted with Dirk and Andrea about what to do today and they suggested the chair lift – and how exciting could that be?  So we caught the bus to the base ... Read more >


Vienna to Zell am See, Tuesday 24 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Tuesday, 24 Oct 2017 | Views [170]

Left our little motel which was very much a rabbit warren – I think there were about 10 corners from the lift to our room.  The weather had improved for us.  This meant a pretty train ride to Salzburg but from there it was a beautiful ... Read more >


Vienna, Monday 23 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Monday, 23 Oct 2017 | Views [170]

Went to Karl’s platz where we took the ticket for the Karl’s kirche and opted for the ticket to the top.  The lift is this steel structure in the middle of the church and quite out of place – but they have been renovating and have ... Read more >


Vienna, Sunday 22 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Sunday, 22 Oct 2017 | Views [157]

Went to the Museum of Natural History at 9.30. Got out at 4.  The most amazing museum.  The building itself was completed in 1889 and is very grand.  The displays (and it has over 30 million artefacts) consist of gems, fossils, the world’... Read more >


Vienna, Saturday 21 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Saturday, 21 Oct 2017 | Views [182]

Looked like rain had set in but it did not matter as our first point of call was indoors.  The Spanish Riding School with its famous Lipizzanier stallions was amazing.  Both horses and riders were exceptional, the venue was special, and our ... Read more >


Budapest to Vienna, Friday 20 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Friday, 20 Oct 2017 | Views [152]

This morning was foggy! We walked to Margaret Island which is in the middle of the Danube and a great oasis.  Rented two monster rollers for a ride around the park.  As we were there before the crowd we got to hoon around on these electric ... Read more >


Budapest, Thursday 19 October 2017

HUNGARY | Thursday, 19 Oct 2017 | Views [123]

The buildings in Eastern Europe are quite deceptive.  While they often state a date of the initial build, this s probably the first of many builds.  Many building were destroyed when the Ottoman empire took over, in the uprising in 1848, during ... Read more >


1 2 Next >