Existing Member?

Cayte & Ian Travels

United Kingdom

There are [67] photos and [29] stories about United Kingdom


See more photos from United Kingdom >


London, Tuesday 31 July

Tuesday, 31 Jul 2018 | Views [82]

A bit of a non-day.  We spent a lazy morning with Carol and Adrian before heading off to Heathrow and catching our plane to Hong Kong.  If your day is shortened by7 hours and you must spend three hours at the airport before your flight, then ... Read more >


London, Monday 30 July

Monday, 30 Jul 2018 | Views [77]

Spent the whole day out at Hampton Court Palace.  It was quite amazing.  The palace itself is in parts which are basically as they have been left by their owners.  The original Tudor palace was begun by Cardinal Wolsey in the early 16th ... Read more >


London, Sunday 29 July

Sunday, 29 Jul 2018 | Views [73]

A bit of rain first thing and then basically it cleared up.  Still a nice London summer at 22 – a bit of a change from last week.  Carole came with us as we headed downstream on the Thames to check out Greenwich.  The Cutty Sark ... Read more >


London, Saturday 28 July

Saturday, 28 Jul 2018 | Views [69]

Woke up to our first morning of rain.  It eased off by about 10 so all three of us headed into the Brough Markets near London Bridge.  So much good food!  Stalls of all sorts of fresh fruit and verges, seafood, meats, cheese and preserves.... Read more >


London, Friday 26 July

Friday, 27 Jul 2018 | Views [87]

Up early this morning to make it into Victoria for our day trip.  First stop was Leeds Castle.  This very pretty castle has been a Norman stronghold; the private property of six of England’s medieval queens; a palace used by Henry VIII ... Read more >


London, Thursday 26 July

Thursday, 26 Jul 2018 | Views [83]

Walked out the door to be greeted by a squirrel!  From that headed to 221B Baker St.  Had to queue for a bit but not as bad as what we saw later in the day.  The house which had its rooms rented in the 1800’s was done with care for ... Read more >


London, Wednesday 25 July

Wednesday, 25 Jul 2018 | Views [122]

Today started at Buckingham Palace.  We went for a walk outside and then headed in for our tour of the State Rooms. A huge number of people went through as we did but it was impressive how well it was organised and did not feel particularly crowded.... Read more >


London, Monday 23 July

Monday, 23 Jul 2018 | Views [97]

Again, a lazy morning, doing English things like drinking tea.  Headed out to meet Ann and Michael at Trafalgar square.  We were joined by a few of the crew including (unexpectedly) Jocie.  We headed to St Martins in the Fields –... Read more >


London, Sunday 22 July

Sunday, 22 Jul 2018 | Views [74]

Had a lazy morning in before catching a red double decker into London Bridge where we discovered a lovely little spot for lunch tucked away next to Southwark Cathedral.  Great paella.  Then off to the Globe for “As You Like It”.... Read more >


Tuesday 13 August

Tuesday, 13 Aug 2013 | Views [253]

All packed up to fly, luggage weight looking good and off to Oxford.  Spent the day checking out Oxford.  Went to one of the colleges - Christ Church, which during term is a living functioning part of the Uni. We booked the tour thankfully ... Read more >


Monday 12 August

Monday, 12 Aug 2013 | Views [166]

Decided that Warwick Castle was the go.  Had some great memories of this and thought it would be right up Ian's tree, but since I was there last (a lot can happen in 30 years) it has gone incredibly commercial and is sort of more a kiddy theme ... Read more >


Sunday 11 August

Sunday, 11 Aug 2013 | Views [146]

Had a lazy morning - the first one of them for a while before heading off to Martins for lunch with some of my English family - Pat, Martins family & Karens family (except Neil). Had a great afternoon - BBQ with some great food a few wines and great ... Read more >


Saturday 10 August

Saturday, 10 Aug 2013 | Views [163]

Had a reminiscing morning.  Pat took us touring through Solihull, Knowle and Dorridge and we ended up sitting and watching the local A grade cricket at Moseley.  Ian was really impressed with the setup and his day was made when a genuine WWII ... Read more >


Friday 9 August

Friday, 9 Aug 2013 | Views [203]

Started the day with a visit to Shrewsbury Abbey. An interesting building built in three stages, with the new part being completed in the 1830s. Very helpful town.  Could not walk anywhere with a map without someone offering help. Quite amazing.... Read more >


Thursday 8 August

Thursday, 8 Aug 2013 | Views [177]

Reluctantly left the Bryn Howells Hotel in Llangollen as it was very nice.  We headed off to Shrewsbury via the aqua duct at Llangollen. An amazing structure - a canal used by the canal boats that is 126ft in the air running in iron channels about ... Read more >


Wednesday 7 August

Wednesday, 7 Aug 2013 | Views [181]

Decided to try for the Snowdon cog railway.  We found they had put on an extra train as the weather was so good (21??) but we had a four hour wait.  So we drove into Conway and explored the castle there, built 13th century and still lots of ... Read more >


Tuesday 6 August

Tuesday, 6 Aug 2013 | Views [166]

Sunshine saw us out of York and the rest of the day followed suite (mainly) but no rain!  Drove to Llangollen - two and a bit hours and we are across the country. The roads are mad - so much traffic all travelling at 70mph - yes they still operate ... Read more >


Monday 5 August

Monday, 5 Aug 2013 | Views [139]

First day of consistent rain.  Can't complain about those odds! So we had an inside day.  Started with York Minster.  It is quite brilliant as they have recently dug out the Roman ruins underneath and made it into an interactive display.... Read more >


Sunday 4 August

Sunday, 4 Aug 2013 | Views [128]

Left Ravenglass for a day of travelling. We first drove to Lake Windemere and had a cruise on the lake. It's very pretty.  We left there to travel through the Yorkshire Dales to Thirsk (the home of James Herriot). I really liked the countryside ... Read more >


Saturday 3 Augusy

Saturday, 3 Aug 2013 | Views [187]

Headed off from Edinburgh trying to conquer the quirkiness of our Citroen hire car. It has some 'special' features which I am not sure we will figure out. Drove to Ravenglass in the Lakes District through rain but got there in the dry. Staying at Muncaster ... Read more >


View more stories from United Kingdom
1 2 Next >
 

 

Travel Answers about United Kingdom

Do you have a travel question? Ask other World Nomads.