Existing Member?

Cayte & Ian Travels

Vienna, Saturday 21 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Saturday, 21 Oct 2017 | Views [182]

Looked like rain had set in but it did not matter as our first point of call was indoors.  The Spanish Riding School with its famous Lipizzanier stallions was amazing.  Both horses and riders were exceptional, the venue was special, and our ... Read more >


Budapest to Vienna, Friday 20 October 2017

AUSTRIA | Friday, 20 Oct 2017 | Views [152]

This morning was foggy! We walked to Margaret Island which is in the middle of the Danube and a great oasis.  Rented two monster rollers for a ride around the park.  As we were there before the crowd we got to hoon around on these electric ... Read more >


Budapest, Thursday 19 October 2017

HUNGARY | Thursday, 19 Oct 2017 | Views [123]

The buildings in Eastern Europe are quite deceptive.  While they often state a date of the initial build, this s probably the first of many builds.  Many building were destroyed when the Ottoman empire took over, in the uprising in 1848, during ... Read more >


Budapest, Wednesday 18 October 2017

HUNGARY | Wednesday, 18 Oct 2017 | Views [172]

Started the day at St Stephens Basilica.  Of course, we climbed to the top.  The smog was far more evident today.  But it was a good view and challenging getting up through the tower – I got quite dizzy from all the circular stairs.... Read more >


Budapest, Tuesday 17 October 2017

HUNGARY | Tuesday, 17 Oct 2017 | Views [164]

Started the day at the Heroes square which celebrates those who founded Hungary in the 9 th century.  It is a great statue but I must say the 7 leaders look like serious elders from Lord of the Rings.  From there we went to the Vajdahunyad ... Read more >


Prague to Budapest, Monday 16 October, 2017

HUNGARY | Monday, 16 Oct 2017 | Views [160]

Decided public transport was the way to go and it was almost seamless.  Made it safely to Budapest and found our accommodation – Wow!  We have an apartment and I think it’s as big as our first home.  Went for a wander around ... Read more >


Prague, Sunday 15 October, 2017

CZECH REPUBLIC | Sunday, 15 Oct 2017 | Views [105]

Started the day a bit slowly – our first sleep in so far.  Decided to find the real funicular today.  Caught the tram over the river and as it was close by, went to visit the John Lennon wall.  This is a wall that was a source of ... Read more >


Prague, Saturday 14 October, 2017

CZECH REPUBLIC | Saturday, 14 Oct 2017 | Views [132]

T-shirt weather today.  Started the day at the Naplavka farmers market on the banks of the river.  Lots of fresh produce and so many interesting things to eat.  We limited ourselves to trying one thing each.  We then went for a wander ... Read more >


Prague, Friday 13 October, 2017

CZECH REPUBLIC | Friday, 13 Oct 2017 | Views [92]

Started the day at Prague Castle – no small feat.  The castle in its first incarnation was built in the 10 th century and has been enhanced and rebuilt through the ages.  At one stage it was the seat of the Pope.  The buildings ... Read more >


Prague, Thursday 12 October, 2017

CZECH REPUBLIC | Thursday, 12 Oct 2017 | Views [139]

The weather here is great.  Sunshine and no drizzle.  And Prague is very pretty.  We started with the Hop on hop off bus which we have found gives you a great overview.  This one the commentary was by a recorded man and woman and ... Read more >


Dresden to Prague, Wednesday 11 October, 2017

GERMANY | Wednesday, 11 Oct 2017 | Views [232]

Up and straight to the Royal Palace museum.  We were able to secure tickets to the Green Vault but with an hour to kill before our time, we started with the Turkish chamber and the Armoury both of which were excellent.  But the vault was even ... Read more >


Dresden, Tuesday 10 October

GERMANY | Tuesday, 10 Oct 2017 | Views [207]

We headed off to take advantage of the free walking tours that our bus ticket entitles us to.  One of the amazing things about Dresden is the lack of any English-speaking tourists and the locals were intrigued as to why we came all the way from ... Read more >


Berlin to Dresden, Monday 9 October, 2017

GERMANY | Monday, 9 Oct 2017 | Views [263]

As we leave Berlin, I will note that we have done very well – we have not yet been run over despite continually looking the wrong way every time we cross the road – our friendly Ampelmann have been helpful but they are not always there to ... Read more >


Berlin, Sunday 8 October 2017

GERMANY | Sunday, 8 Oct 2017 | Views [259]

Our last day in Berlin and the weather was beautiful.  We headed off to the Deutsches Technikmuseum.  Navigated the U Bahn successfully by ourselves.  The museum was amazing.  Had a huge air and space display – both pre and ... Read more >


Berlin, Saturday 7 October 2017

GERMANY | Saturday, 7 Oct 2017 | Views [196]

With the weather continuing to be miserable we decided on a museum day – and there are some great ones here.  Museum Island is right near where we are staying and we went the Neues Museum and the Alte National Galerie.  The Neues Museum ... Read more >


Berlin, Friday 6 October 2017

GERMANY | Friday, 6 Oct 2017 | Views [164]

Went for a wander to Marienkirche, one of the oldest churches in the city.  It dates prior to the 11 th century but no one is exactly sure when. It has the most amazing murals which appear to support Eric Von Danniken’s theories on aliens.... Read more >


Berlin, Thursday 5 October 2017

GERMANY | Thursday, 5 Oct 2017 | Views [223]

I love German breakfasts 😊.  Especially after 12 hours sleep.  Spent the morning in the Bode museum on Museum Island which is literally outside our door.  Our accommodation is good and so well placed.  Walking distance to almost ... Read more >


Berlin, Wednesday 4 October 2017

GERMANY | Wednesday, 4 Oct 2017 | Views [145]

Arrived in Germany and made it to the motel where our room was ready early so we got to shower!!  Kerstin arrived to pick us up for a day of being touristy.  Was great to see her again.  It’s just like she has never been away when ... Read more >


Photos: Europe2017

GERMANY | Tuesday, 3 Oct 2017 | Photo Gallery


See all 73 photos >>
 


In transit, Tuesday 3 October 2017

GERMANY | Tuesday, 3 Oct 2017 | Views [259]

Big thanks to Maddy for dropping us to the airport. Then Tuesday was just a day of sitting in planes and walking in terminals where we had the chance.  We were in the centre of the plane so did not even see anything special – but I did have ... Read more >


< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next >

About europe2013

Om Marble Mountain

Where I've been

Photo Galleries

My trip journals


See all my tags