Existing Member?

Cayte & Ian Travels

Lisbon, Sunday 15 July

PORTUGAL | Sunday, 15 Jul 2018 | Views [72]

Happy birthday dad!!  Hope you had a great day. Headed off to Belem today via metro and tram and fluked a street festival with marching bands, bands on horseback and market stalls with interesting local goods for sale – but just browsing.... Read more >


Lisbon, Saturday 14 July

PORTUGAL | Saturday, 14 Jul 2018 | Views [77]

Another good tour – this time a walking one although it did start with a ride on the number 28 tram which is iconic to Lisbon.  The trams here are nearly all old as the newer trams cannot negotiate the narrow streets and tight corners. ... Read more >


Lisbon, Friday 13 July

PORTUGAL | Friday, 13 Jul 2018 | Views [77]

Booked a full day tour to Sintra (and more).  Our little group of 8 met and headed for Pena Palace, which sits on a hilltop with a view of Sintra National Park and the Atlantic Ocean. Unfortunately for us there was no view today – the fog ... Read more >


Faro, Thursday 12 July

PORTUGAL | Thursday, 12 Jul 2018 | Views [108]

Happy Birthday Brydie Jane. Off to Lisbon on the early train out of Faro.  Both of us dozed on the way up – the previous night some of the street residents had been a bit loud.  Made it to the motel easily and managed to talk to Brydie ... Read more >


Faro, Wednesday 11 July

PORTUGAL | Wednesday, 11 Jul 2018 | Views [64]

Up and off to the harbour.  Took the two-island tour by small boat to go and check out the Atlantic Ocean.  It was an excellent little tour as the guide was knowledgeable about the local wildlife and kept stopping to show us birds, fish, crabs ... Read more >


Faro, Tuesday 10 July

PORTUGAL | Tuesday, 10 Jul 2018 | Views [85]

Having run for the last two weeks (and me for the few before) I decided to have a morning in and just stayed in bed.  Ian went for a walk and when he returned we took off for the town centre and did a Far-Eco Tuk tour which was a sort of electric ... Read more >


Bonn, Monday 9 July

PORTUGAL | Monday, 9 Jul 2018 | Views [88]

With Ute leaving early for work we sorted ourselves.  I am really going to miss the German bread for brekky.  Nothing quite like it at home.  Uneventful trip and all connections worked.  Arrived in sunny Portugal and found our accommodation ... Read more >


Bonn, Sunday 8 July

GERMANY | Sunday, 8 Jul 2018 | Views [83]

Thomas came back to pick up Kylie (the dog) and as Jan and Anni had stayed the night, we were a good crowd for a leisurely breakfast.  After that the three of us took Kylie for a walk in the forest.  Ian’s watch said we covered about ... Read more >


Bonn, Saturday 7 July

GERMANY | Saturday, 7 Jul 2018 | Views [128]

Up for an excellent German breakfast and then we all went into town to buy the important things – Haribo and beer.  First the Haribo shop was about the size of Dan Murphy’s and most people were shopping with trolleys.  So many interesting ... Read more >


Ghent, Friday 6 July

GERMANY | Friday, 6 Jul 2018 | Views [99]

Up early and out the door.  Made all our connections despite delays, one being that people were on the train tracks??  And waiting for us on the platform at Bonn was Kerstin.  As always wonderful to see her.  Came back to her place ... Read more >


Ghent, Thursday 5 July

BELGIUM | Thursday, 5 Jul 2018 | Views [59]

Lyn’s last day with us so we headed to the Antwerp train station.  The train station alone was worth the visit – a marvellous marble construction with a clear roof.  We put Lyn’s bags in storage and headed into town. ... Read more >


Ghent, Wednesday 4 July

BELGIUM | Wednesday, 4 Jul 2018 | Views [70]

Spent the day around Ghent.  Started the day at St Niklass Church, one of three magnificent buildings that are on the edge of the old city area.  Inside it was lovely. While it is still a functioning church there was a portrait display “... Read more >


Ghent, Tuesday 3 July

BELGIUM | Tuesday, 3 Jul 2018 | Views [87]

After brekky we headed off to Brugge for the day.  The train there was so packed – school holidays but got there.  Walked from the railway station into the centre of town where we did a mini hop on hop off bus to check out all the sights.... Read more >


Leuven, Monday 2 July

BELGIUM | Monday, 2 Jul 2018 | Views [63]

Most of us met for breakfast before heading our separate directions.  Lyn, Ian and I had a trouble-free trip to Ghent.  The train was crowded, so we were split up and I scored a German couple to chat with.  Their English was limited so ... Read more >


Leuven, Sunday 1 July

BELGIUM | Sunday, 1 Jul 2018 | Views [72]

A relaxing morning.  Ended up having breakfast with Jade, Sam, Steve, Jeanette, James and Doug.  Very pleasant.  At that stage it was decided that we would all (us and quite a few others) would meet at the Oulde Markt for lunch –... Read more >


Leuven, Saturday 30 June

BELGIUM | Saturday, 30 Jun 2018 | Views [49]

The big day!  As the wedding was not until the evening we spent the day exploring Leuven.  It is a student town and half the population are about to leave on holidays.  The centre of the town is very quaint.  The town hall and the ... Read more >


Brussels, Friday 29 June

BELGIUM | Friday, 29 Jun 2018 | Views [88]

Started out the day with another good breakfast.  Am struggling with the language here – its sometime French, sometimes Dutch and sometimes Flemish and as I have no idea with any of those my default answer is in German – weird and I ... Read more >


Brussels, Thursday 28 June

BELGIUM | Thursday, 28 Jun 2018 | Views [78]

Had a walking day and covered about 20km!  Started at the Cinquantenaire, a large arch that celebrates 50 years of Belgium.  Inside it was a beautiful structure (to my mind similar to Crystal Palace) and is the museum of the Armed Forces and ... Read more >


Brussels, Wednesday 27 June

BELGIUM | Wednesday, 27 Jun 2018 | Views [92]

Apologies but our internet has been dodgy.  Catching up now.   Slept all night and life is good.  We have our own 6 th floor balcony with a view over the city – very pretty.  Today was for to doing very Belgian things.... Read more >


Brussels, Tuesday 26 June 2018

BELGIUM | Tuesday, 26 Jun 2018 | Views [136]

More sitting -11 hours to Brussels and we got in at 6am which is going to make it a long day.  Went to the motel but could not check in as too early so went wandering.  Brussels is a city that does not wake up until about 9.  The streets ... Read more >


< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next >

About europe2013

Om Marble Mountain

Where I've been

Photo Galleries

My trip journals


See all my tags