Existing Member?

Mark's World Tour 2007-08

Trip: Australia

There are [47] stories from my trip: Australia


Day 198: Diving at the Muiron Islands

AUSTRALIA | Wednesday, 21 May 2008 | Views [977]

Wednesday 21st May I was up at 06.15, got myself ready for another days diving and said goodbye to some of the guys that were leaving on the ER bus towards Broome. I was sorry to see them go as they were great fun but I also had a lot of fun stuff ... Read more >


Day 197: Diving on Ningaloo Reef

AUSTRALIA | Tuesday, 20 May 2008 | Views [737]

Tuesday 20th May It was another early start that day, and I was picked up by the Ningaloo Reef Dreaming mini-bus at 07.15. We were off to dive on the Ningaloo Reef itself, and there were four of us in total, including a girl called Karen from Melbourne ... Read more >


Day 196: Swimming with a whale shark

AUSTRALIA | Monday, 19 May 2008 | Views [797]

Monday 19th May I was up about 06.15 to get ready before the 'Ningaloo Reef Dreaming' bus picked me and a group of other people up from the campsite to take us out for a day of 'whale sharking'. There was already a crowd of people gathered at reception, ... Read more >


Day 195: Coral Bay to Exmouth

AUSTRALIA | Sunday, 18 May 2008 | Views [1215]

Sunday 18th May I was up at 08.30, packed my stuff and went for breakfast at the nearby cafe before getting onto the ER bus at 10.00. We had a new driver, a guy called Rob, and a different, smaller bus than the one I had been on when we left from ... Read more >


Day 194: Chilling out on the beach in Coral Bay

AUSTRALIA | Saturday, 17 May 2008 | Views [677]

Saturday 17th May I got up earlier than the rest of the guys, at about 07.30, even though I hadn't made any plans for the day. I was awake and probably used to these early starts so decided to just get up and make the most of the morning. I did ... Read more >


Day 193: Snorkelling in Coral Bay

AUSTRALIA | Friday, 16 May 2008 | Views [471]

Friday 16th May The group of people who were leaving Coral Bay on the ER bus to Exmouth had a snorkel outing to the beach planned before moving on later in the morning. We were on the beach at 08.00 and headed out into the water to take a look at ... Read more >


Day 192: Denham to Coral Bay

AUSTRALIA | Thursday, 15 May 2008 | Views [2818]

Thursday 15th May Our departure time of 07.00 had to be closely adhered to as we had a strict timetable for that morning, and that was to make sure that we got to Monkey Mia for the dolphin feeding which happens every morning, like clockwork, at ... Read more >


Day 191: Kalbarri to Denham

AUSTRALIA | Wednesday, 14 May 2008 | Views [2358]

Wednesday 14th May I woke up at 06.30, later than planned, because I hadn't heard the tinny alarm on my watch go off (one of the downsides to wearing earplugs). This left me in a bit of a rush but I had become expert at getting my stuff together ... Read more >


Day 190: The Easy Rider bus heads out on the highway....

AUSTRALIA | Tuesday, 13 May 2008 | Views [947]

Tuesday 13th May I was up shortly after 06.00 and got myself together before making the short walk to the 'Easy Rider' office on William Street. I was given all of the information that I would need and told how the trip would work. There were about ... Read more >


Day 189: My last day in Perth

AUSTRALIA | Monday, 12 May 2008 | Views [1369]

Monday 12th May My first thought when I woke up was of United's victory the night before, a mixture of happiness and relief. I spent another bit of time at the library before I went to the WACA cricket stadium to take the guided tour that I had ... Read more >


Day 188: Return to 'Freo'

AUSTRALIA | Sunday, 11 May 2008 | Views [485]

Sunday 11th May The day started a lot nicer than the one before, the sun was out and my plan to visit Freemantle appeared to be back on track. I went to check some emails in the library before getting on the train out to Freo, and it took about ... Read more >


Day 187: Another easy day in Perth

AUSTRALIA | Saturday, 10 May 2008 | Views [373]

Saturday 10th May I woke up, took out my earplugs and my ears became sensitive to the sound of the rain pattering against the window and water gushing from the drainpipes. I looked out to see a horrible day in progress and it put paid to my plans ... Read more >


Day 186: Taking it handy in Perth

AUSTRALIA | Friday, 9 May 2008 | Views [374]

Friday 9th May I got up and out of the hostel at 09.30, grabbed a wonderfully greasy bacon and egg roll for breakfast (a real taste of home!) and spent a few hours on the internet in the library. It was a nice place, very comfortable and I was grateful ... Read more >


Day 185: Denmark to Perth

AUSTRALIA | Thursday, 8 May 2008 | Views [489]

Thursday 8th May We left the beautiful surroundings of Denmark at about 08.00, again happy with how things had worked out there. We could even have done with a few extra days to take in more of the scenery that we had enjoyed during our time there.... Read more >


Day 184: Having a 'whale' of a time in Albany!

AUSTRALIA | Wednesday, 7 May 2008 | Views [727]

Wednesday 7th May We had been recommended a visit to 'Whale World' in Albany, a former whaling station that has been converted into a museum that tells the story of its fairly gruesome past. It took about an hour to drive from Denmark to the town ... Read more >


Day 183: Beautiful Denmark

AUSTRALIA | Tuesday, 6 May 2008 | Views [1276]

Tuesday 6th May I was still not sure what I was going to do with myself once I left Mum & Dad in Perth two days later, so did some research in an internet cafe on the main street of Denmark, a small but appealing little town. I was undecided ... Read more >


Day 182: Dunsborough to Denmark

AUSTRALIA | Monday, 5 May 2008 | Views [676]

Monday 5th May We left Dunsborough at about 10.00 and set off in a south easterly direction on our way towards the town of Denmark where we had booked another villa for the last three nights that Mum & Dad and I were spending together, before ... Read more >


Day 181: A trip to Bussleton

AUSTRALIA | Sunday, 4 May 2008 | Views [347]

Sunday 4th May There was still a lot to see in the Margaret River area before we moved on further south the following day, so we took a trip to the jetty at Bussleton, which is a famous local sight, and a good place for a Sunday stroll. Bussleton ... Read more >


Day 180: Some downtime in Dunsborough

AUSTRALIA | Saturday, 3 May 2008 | Views [367]

Saturday 3rd May I had been looking forward to taking a 'day off' from life as a traveller/tourist, and to take advantage of the comfort and space of the villa that we were staying in. Mum & Dad headed off to their wine festival and I stayed ... Read more >


Day 179: A trip around Margaret River

AUSTRALIA | Friday, 2 May 2008 | Views [569]

Friday 2nd May Mum & Dad had planned on doing a tour of some of the wineries in Margaret River the following day as there was a local wine festival taking place and it seemed like the best option for them, instead of driving around a lot of ... Read more >


Day 178: Perth to the Margaret River

AUSTRALIA | Thursday, 1 May 2008 | Views [972]

Thursday 1st May We were out of the apartment by 10.00 and on the road south towards the Margaret River region, famous for its wineries, beaches and scenic drives. We passed through Freemantle on the way, and, as time was on our side and we were ... Read more >


Day 177: A day in 'Freo'

AUSTRALIA | Wednesday, 30 Apr 2008 | Views [401]

Wednesday 30th April I was up later in the morning than planned, rising at 10.00 having had a bit of a lie-in due to the fact that I got up at 02.45 to watch the second leg of the United-Barcelona Champions League semi-final. It wasn't a great game ... Read more >


< Previous1 2