Existing Member?

Mark's World Tour 2007-08

Laos

There are [63] photos and [20] stories about Laos


See more photos from Laos >


Day 129: My last day in Laos

Thursday, 13 Mar 2008 | Views [546]

Thursday 13th March My final full day in Laos was very much like the previous few days I had spent in Luang Prabang: doing some shopping, emailing, reading and relaxing. It was all very quiet and I was more than happy to be moving on the next day. I ... Read more >


Day 128: Looking forward to moving on!

Wednesday, 12 Mar 2008 | Views [961] | Comments [1]

Wednesday 12th March I was awoken by the sound of workmen banging something hard on another hard thing, so there was little chance of me sleeping beyond 08.00, even if I wanted to. It's a decent place to stay, but they don't seem to give a shit ... Read more >

Tags: relaxation


Day 127: Just passing the time

Tuesday, 11 Mar 2008 | Views [765]

Tuesday 11th March Whatever was wrong with me, it wasn't much and I thought a lie-in would do me good, as rest was probably the best cure. I am usually up no later than 09.00 each morning, and the noise in the guesthouse is particularly bad: construction ... Read more >

Tags: relaxation


Day 126: Another quiet day

Monday, 10 Mar 2008 | Views [823]

Monday 10th March I was up around 09.00 but didn't feel too well, not bad, but it seemed like I had a mild cold coming on. I thought some serious 'downtime' was in order to stave off any troublesome illness, not wanting to feel under the weather while ... Read more >

Tags: relaxation


Day 125: Taking it easy in Luang Prabang

Sunday, 9 Mar 2008 | Views [1014]

Sunday 9th March It felt good to be back in LP for a few days and I spent the morning scoping out what I was going to do during my time here. I wasn't interested in doing anymore treks, and I had my fill of waterfalls and caves, as impressive ... Read more >

Tags: relaxation


Day 124: Back to Luang Prabang

Saturday, 8 Mar 2008 | Views [662]

Friday 8th March There is a considerable amount to do and see around Muang Ngoi to justify spending a few days there, but I had done all of the trekking, caving and visits to waterfalls to do me, at least for the time being. Seeing as the others ... Read more >


Day 123: Onwards to Muang Ngoi

Friday, 7 Mar 2008 | Views [770]

Friday 7th March I was up at 07.00 after a good nights sleep. It seemed to me that this village – like the others I had stayed in on the previous trek – are almost always active, or there is, at least, some sort of racket coming from somewhere ... Read more >


Day 122: Trekking around Nong Khiaw

Thursday, 6 Mar 2008 | Views [770]

Thursday 6th March After a particularly muddled breakfast (the food coming out in the most chaotic order), we got on the road with our guide for the trek, a young fellow by the name of Kamli. We stopped off briefly at another cave, although it ... Read more >

Tags: the great outdoors


Day 121: Fishing Lao-style

Wednesday, 5 Mar 2008 | Views [2016]

Wednesday 5th March Four of us – the two French lads, Femke and myself – signed up to try our hand at traditional Lao net fishing, which we booked through the guesthouse. We finally got going around 10.30, after our breakfast was typically slow ... Read more >


Day 120: Luang Prabang to Nong Khiaw

Tuesday, 4 Mar 2008 | Views [898]

Tuesday 4th March The boat to Nong Khiaw was due to leave at 08.30, so I was out of the guesthouse by 07.00 or, had some breakfast and made my way to the riverbank from where the boat would leave. I was more than a little concerned on seeing the ... Read more >

Tags: on the road


Gallery: Laos

Monday, 3 Mar 2008 | Photo Gallery


See all 63 photos >>
 


Day 119: A very enjoyable day in Luang Prabang

Monday, 3 Mar 2008 | Views [997]

Monday 3rd March Once again, I had a list of tasks to accomplish, the primary aim being to sort out a flight from LP to Siem Reap in Cambodia, where I am due to meet Maria & Simon in the middle of the month. Although many buses and trains travel ... Read more >

Tags: relaxation


Day 118: Luang Nam That to Luang Prabang

Sunday, 2 Mar 2008 | Views [806]

Sunday  2nd March I was up at 06.30, feeling like a complete zombie until I forced myself under the icy cold shower and felt instantly wide awake. I packed the rest of my stuff, paid for my room and met the guys for breakfast. Kara was staying for ... Read more >

Tags: on the road


Day 117: Born to be mild!

Saturday, 1 Mar 2008 | Views [731]

Saturday 1st March Kara had suggested a few days earlier the idea of renting some motorbikes and taking a trip up to the town of Muang Sing, 60km north of Luang Nam Tha. It sounded like a good idea to me as I had been keen to visit this part of ... Read more >

Tags: adventures


Day 116: Chilling out in Luang Nam Tha

Friday, 29 Feb 2008 | Views [742]

Friday 29th February After a good rest, I got up to find an overcast, cold day, and decided to follow the lead of the others and take the opporunity to take it easy after a couple of active days. So, I spent much of the day on the internet, making ... Read more >

Tags: relaxation


Day 115: Back to reality

Thursday, 28 Feb 2008 | Views [831]

Thursday 28th February The night had once again been a comfortable and peaceful one for me. I was also pleased that the others had slept well, for once. It had been a lot warmer; given the lower than planned number of people, we had twice the number ... Read more >

Tags: the great outdoors


Day 114: Seven becomes four

Wednesday, 27 Feb 2008 | Views [699]

Wednesday 27th February I woke up shortly before 07.00, having spent a reasonably comfortable night; it had been slightly cold but not as bad as I had anticipated. It had been another undisturbed sleep for me but I soon found out that it had been ... Read more >

Tags: the great outdoors


Day 113: Going back to basics

Tuesday, 26 Feb 2008 | Views [667]

Tuesday 26th February The night had been a reasonably comfortable one for me and I got up at 07.00 feeling refreshed and looking forward to the day ahead. However, it seemed that I was the only one to have had a decent sleep: the others had been ... Read more >

Tags: trekking


Day 112: A day in Vieng Poukha

Monday, 25 Feb 2008 | Views [1054]

Monday 25th February The trek I had signed up for was to leave from the village of Vieng Poukha, 60km back in the direction of Huay Xai, the border town from where I had come the day before. I only realised that I would have to travel there from ... Read more >


Day 111: Crossing into Laos

Sunday, 24 Feb 2008 | Views [1526]

Sunday 24th February I was up about 06.30 and grabbed breakfast at the guesthouse, the only one there to enjoy the sunrise over the Mekong. The Laos side of the river was maybe a hundred metres or so away, and I knew it wouldn't take long to make ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road

 

 

Travel Answers about Laos

Do you have a travel question? Ask other World Nomads.