Existing Member?

Cayte & Ian Travels

Trip: Vietnam2015

There are [33] stories from my trip: Vietnam2015


Vietnam, Thursday April 2

VIETNAM | Thursday, 2 Apr 2015 | Views [135]

Today was another busy day.  We had a look around Saigon. We went to the Opera House, the Post Office, Notre Dam, the markets and a lacquer factory for a quick look, but the main part of the morning was spent at the now Reunification Palace which ... Read more >


Vietnam, Wednesday April 1

VIETNAM | Wednesday, 1 Apr 2015 | Views [158]

Huge day today.  Started with an early morning trip (yes 5.30am) to the Cai Rang floating markets which is basically a wholesale market of all types of seasonal fruit and vegetables all traded from boats - even cafe ones where you can buy drinks ... Read more >


Vietnam, Tuesday March 31

VIETNAM | Tuesday, 31 Mar 2015 | Views [154]

We started the day with the most sumptuous breakfast - miso soup, crepes, home-made yoghurts, fresh fruit, and much much more available. We then went on a small boat to a fish farm which is a basically a house on water with a big cage of fish below it ... Read more >


Vietnam, Monday March 30

VIETNAM | Monday, 30 Mar 2015 | Views [226]

Today was a very relaxed day and I'm always surprised at how tired you can get from doing very little. We started the day late and went by the Foreign Correspondents Club, The club was very reminiscent of colonial style and we whiled away a bit ... Read more >


Cambodia, Sunday March 29

CAMBODIA | Monday, 30 Mar 2015 | Views [191]

Happy birthday Janice. Today we started the day with a visit to the Royal Palace. As you would expect everything was rather ornate.   T he current king is a 63-year-old bachelor.  The piece de resistance was a Buddha with 90kg ... Read more >


Cambodia Saturday March 28

AUSTRALIA | Saturday, 28 Mar 2015 | Views [280]

 Departed Siam Reap for Phnom Penh. On the way we stopped at a roadside stall where we tried a local lunch of cooked sticky rice in a bamboo stick - it was really yummy. Then on to a local rural school. The children did not speak English and referred ... Read more >


Cambodia Friday March 27

CAMBODIA | Friday, 27 Mar 2015 | Views [272]

Ian on the mend!  Got up at 5 to head out to watch the sunrise over Angkor Wat.  Was lovely to watch but due to cloud cover was not as spectacular as it could have been.  Had a monkey put on a show not 5 foot in front of us stealing food ... Read more >


Cambodia, Thursday March 26

CAMBODIA | Thursday, 26 Mar 2015 | Views [291]

Ian not feeling so crash hot today - but he decided to brave it and it was worth the effort.  We started with Angkor Thom and then the Banyon temple. From there we went to the Elephant Terrace and Preah Kdei.  it is incredible, all these huge ... Read more >


Wednesday 25 March

CAMBODIA | Wednesday, 25 Mar 2015 | Views [299]

Happy birthday to Jade and Tracy !  Today we explored the temples of Siam Reap, visiting Banteay Srei and Banteay Samre in the morning.  After a bit of lunch (and excellent meal at the New Hope training restaurant) we went to Angkor Wat.  ... Read more >


Cambodia Tuesday March 24

CAMBODIA | Tuesday, 24 Mar 2015 | Views [328]

Met up with our tour group in the Singapore airport, before the 2 hour flight to Siam Reap. The weather is not too hot, but quite humid.  The hotel is lovely - what i imagine a colonial Indian one to be like.  Checked out the pool on the top ... Read more >


Vietnam Monday March 23

CAMBODIA | Monday, 23 Mar 2015 | Views [203]

Monday was really a write-off so no point adding too much on it - just travel from Albury to Sydney and then to Singapore., Note to self.  staying at the transit hotel in Singapore and getting a decent nights /sleep was a piece of genius.  ... Read more >


Photos: Vietnam2015

AUSTRALIA | Saturday, 14 Mar 2015 | Photo Gallery

Cambodia, Vietnam & Singapore
See all 65 photos >>
 


Vietnam - getting organised

VIETNAM | Saturday, 14 Mar 2015 | Views [212]

The trip to Vietnam looms.  I have forgotten how this jounal works so am making an entry before i go as a refresher.  The exciting bits are yet to come


< Previous1 2