Mark's World Tour 2007-08

Day 72: A lesson in Singaporean history

SINGAPORE | Wednesday, 16 Jan 2008 | Views [387]

Wednesday 16th January I once more set out on a mission to see more of the cultural and historical side to the city. Since I didn't get round to eating breakfast, I made my way back to Orchard Street – I just couldn't avoid the place, and was starting ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 71: Sightseeing and yet more shopping

SINGAPORE | Tuesday, 15 Jan 2008 | Views [378]

Tuesday 15th January I managed to get up at a more reasonable time, with a 9am start bettering the efforts of the previous few mornings. After the by now standard coffee break, I once more made a visit to Orchard Street in an effort to put an end once ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 70: Out and about in Singapore

SINGAPORE | Monday, 14 Jan 2008 | Views [409]

Monday 14th January I had fallen into somewhat of a routine since I had arrived in Singapore, and the days usually started off with a large coffee that they served in pint glasses at the Coffee Bean cafe near Mark's flat. I spent a few hours updating ... Read more >

Tags: The Great Outdoors


Day 69: Singapore: a shopper's paradise

SINGAPORE | Sunday, 13 Jan 2008 | Views [548]

Sunday 13th January I had an earlier start to the day, with the aim of making the most of Sunday as Mark was free to spend the day hanging out before going back to work the next day. I took a dip in the pool before making a trip into Orchard Street ... Read more >

Tags: Shopping


Day 68: Back in the 21st century!

SINGAPORE | Saturday, 12 Jan 2008 | Views [406]

Saturday 12th January I got up around 11.30, not too late considering the amount of sleep I was due to catch up on. Mark had arranged to play golf with a few mates, so I was able to relax, grab food at the local corner restaurant (known as a 'hawker' ... Read more >

Tags: Relaxation


Days 66 & 67: The long road to Singapore

INDIA | Thursday, 10 Jan 2008 | Views [548]

Thursday 10th & Friday 11th January I checked out of the hotel and took a rickshaw to Varkala Station, where I caught the 10.30 train to Trivandrum, and onwards to the airport, getting there at 12.00. My flight was scheduled to leave for Mumbai ... Read more >

Tags: planes trains & automobiles


Day 65: My last proper day in India

INDIA | Wednesday, 9 Jan 2008 | Views [435]

Wednesday 9th January I was gradually feeling better as each day passed but still didn't feel like doing a whole lot. The morning and early afternoon were spent eating, reading and emailing. I met Jamie & Rhonda along the cliff edge path and had ... Read more >

Tags: Beaches & sunshine


Day 64: Feeling better

INDIA | Tuesday, 8 Jan 2008 | Views [449]

Tuesday 8th January I woke feeling better than the day before but still felt the need for more R&R: rest and reading. I spent the morning emailing and that took me up to lunchtime. I finished the book I had been reading, a book called 'Tell Me ... Read more >

Tags: Beaches & sunshine


Day 63: A cold at the beach....what's that all about?

INDIA | Monday, 7 Jan 2008 | Views [493]

Monday 7th January The night had been a long, uncomfortable one, and I spent most of it alternating between shivering and sweating, only falling off to sleep after what seemed like a few hours. I had decided the night before that I probably wasn't ... Read more >

Tags: Beaches & sunshine


Day 62: First day in Varkala

INDIA | Sunday, 6 Jan 2008 | Views [652] | Comments [1]

Sunday 6th January After a decent kip, I had breakfast at the guesthouse before heading out onto the beach to get some sun. It is noticeably warmer in Varkala than it had been in Goa, which itself was very warm at times. The sun is also more intense, ... Read more >

Tags: Relaxation


Day 61: Getting nowhere fast in Kerala

INDIA | Saturday, 5 Jan 2008 | Views [496]

Saturday 5th January I had planned out my route to Varkala, and it was to involve two bus journeys with a boat trip through the famous Keralan 'Backwaters' in between. So, not the most direct of trips, but it would give me the chance to see some beautiful ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 60: Tea and spice and all things nice!

INDIA | Friday, 4 Jan 2008 | Views [1487]

Friday 4th January The day started off early, as Anja and I got up to watch the sunrise over the edge of the park where we were staying. There was the usual heavy mist rolling over the grasslands and the forest, but little sign of any ... Read more >

Tags: The Great Outdoors


Day 59: Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary

INDIA | Thursday, 3 Jan 2008 | Views [625]

Thursday 3rd January The night was a cold one, similar to those I experienced in the north of the country at the start of the trip, so my sleep wasn’t the most comfortable. After breakfast, Anja and I bought tickets for entry into the Periyar Wildlife ... Read more >

Tags: The Great Outdoors


Day 58:From Cochin to Kumily

INDIA | Wednesday, 2 Jan 2008 | Views [1505]

Wednesday 2nd January I was up at 07.00, packed my bag and got on the ferry from Fort Cochin to Ernakulam, then got the 10.30 bus to Kumily. I was told the journey would take about six hours, but just hoped that we would get there at least before sunset.... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 57: New Year's Day

INDIA | Tuesday, 1 Jan 2008 | Views [394]

Tuesday 1st January Fort Cochin is famous for the Chinese fishing nets that line the shoreline at the north end of the peninsula, so I took a walk along the seafront pathway after breakfast to see what was going on there, take some photos and look ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 56: New Year's Eve

INDIA | Monday, 31 Dec 2007 | Views [668]

Monday 31st December After a good nights sleep, I made a few phone calls to see which hotels in Fort Cochin had free roos for the following two nights. I presumed that there would be more going on in terms of New Year celebrations in the old ... Read more >

Tags: Party time


Day 55: Moving onwards to Kerala

INDIA | Sunday, 30 Dec 2007 | Views [412]

Sunday 30th December I managed to get a few decent hours sleep. The earplugs once again did a good job, taking the edge off the snoring coming from a bunch of guys in the bunks opposite me. I knew the train wouldn't arrive in Ernakulam until after ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 54: Back on the road again

INDIA | Saturday, 29 Dec 2007 | Views [428]

Saturday 29th December The time had come for me to pack up my stuff and hit the road again. I had been in Goa for two and a half weeks, had a wonderful time and felt properly recovered from the busy period of travel that I had through Rajasthan ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 53: Maximum R 'n R

INDIA | Friday, 28 Dec 2007 | Views [393]

Friday 28th December It was my last full day in Goa before I got back on the road the following day for the final leg of my Indian adventure. Although I will no doubt be spending a lot more time on beaches over the course of my world tour, I hoped ... Read more >

Tags: Beaches & sunshine


Day 52: A busier day...but still very lazy

INDIA | Thursday, 27 Dec 2007 | Views [448]

Thursday 27th December After breakfast, I decided to head into Palolem again and take another look around the shops. I walked in and back to get some exercise, having done little walking over the last week or so. There wasn't much of interest but ... Read more >

Tags: Beaches & sunshine


Day 51: Boxing Day

INDIA | Wednesday, 26 Dec 2007 | Views [390]

Wednesday 26th December I knew it was almost time to hit the road again, so I spent the early part of the day trying to book an onward train ticket to Kerala, where I was planning to spend the last leg of my time in India. This was to prove a complete ... Read more >

Tags: Beaches & sunshine


Day 50: Christmas Day

INDIA | Tuesday, 25 Dec 2007 | Views [455]

Tuesday 25th December I woke up to the sunniest, warmest, most beachy Christmas morning I had ever seen. Although it was really just another lazy day in Goa, it was weird to think that it was Christmas and that everyone back home would be exchanging ... Read more >

Tags: Beaches & sunshine


Day 49: Christmas Eve

INDIA | Monday, 24 Dec 2007 | Views [386]

Sunday 24th December After breakfast, I set off once again for Palolem to get a present for one of the girls in the group, after we decided it would be a laugh to do Secret Santa. There wasn't a huge choice, even if we weren't buying within a budget, ... Read more >

Tags: Beaches & sunshine


Day 48: A visit to Palolem

INDIA | Sunday, 23 Dec 2007 | Views [391]

Monday 23rd December I was awoken by the sound of Pete knocking on the door of my hut, a surprise in itself given that Pete hadn't made it up before lunchtime (a generous estimation, I might add) the last two days due to a severe bout of jetlag.... Read more >

Tags: Beaches & sunshine


Day 47: Chilling on Patnem Beach

INDIA | Saturday, 22 Dec 2007 | Views [470]

Sunday 22nd December The days seem to get lazier and lazier in Goa, and the heat of the day always makes me feel tired, even if I haven't been doing very much (or because of it). Even after a day spent swimming, lying on the beach and eating leaves ... Read more >

Tags: Beaches & sunshine


< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next >

About markr_mcmahon

Shaaaape of ye!

Follow Me

Where I've been

Photo Galleries

My trip journals


See all my tags