Mark's World Tour 2007-08

Day 120: Luang Prabang to Nong Khiaw

LAOS | Tuesday, 4 Mar 2008 | Views [548]

Tuesday 4th March The boat to Nong Khiaw was due to leave at 08.30, so I was out of the guesthouse by 07.00 or, had some breakfast and made my way to the riverbank from where the boat would leave. I was more than a little concerned on seeing the ... Read more >

Tags: on the road


Gallery: Laos

LAOS | Monday, 3 Mar 2008 | Photo Gallery


See all 63 photos >>
 


Day 119: A very enjoyable day in Luang Prabang

LAOS | Monday, 3 Mar 2008 | Views [603]

Monday 3rd March Once again, I had a list of tasks to accomplish, the primary aim being to sort out a flight from LP to Siem Reap in Cambodia, where I am due to meet Maria & Simon in the middle of the month. Although many buses and trains travel ... Read more >

Tags: relaxation


Day 118: Luang Nam That to Luang Prabang

LAOS | Sunday, 2 Mar 2008 | Views [491]

Sunday  2nd March I was up at 06.30, feeling like a complete zombie until I forced myself under the icy cold shower and felt instantly wide awake. I packed the rest of my stuff, paid for my room and met the guys for breakfast. Kara was staying for ... Read more >

Tags: on the road


Day 117: Born to be mild!

LAOS | Saturday, 1 Mar 2008 | Views [447]

Saturday 1st March Kara had suggested a few days earlier the idea of renting some motorbikes and taking a trip up to the town of Muang Sing, 60km north of Luang Nam Tha. It sounded like a good idea to me as I had been keen to visit this part of ... Read more >

Tags: adventures


Day 116: Chilling out in Luang Nam Tha

LAOS | Friday, 29 Feb 2008 | Views [509]

Friday 29th February After a good rest, I got up to find an overcast, cold day, and decided to follow the lead of the others and take the opporunity to take it easy after a couple of active days. So, I spent much of the day on the internet, making ... Read more >

Tags: relaxation


Day 115: Back to reality

LAOS | Thursday, 28 Feb 2008 | Views [478]

Thursday 28th February The night had once again been a comfortable and peaceful one for me. I was also pleased that the others had slept well, for once. It had been a lot warmer; given the lower than planned number of people, we had twice the number ... Read more >

Tags: the great outdoors


Day 114: Seven becomes four

LAOS | Wednesday, 27 Feb 2008 | Views [406]

Wednesday 27th February I woke up shortly before 07.00, having spent a reasonably comfortable night; it had been slightly cold but not as bad as I had anticipated. It had been another undisturbed sleep for me but I soon found out that it had been ... Read more >

Tags: the great outdoors


Day 113: Going back to basics

LAOS | Tuesday, 26 Feb 2008 | Views [464]

Tuesday 26th February The night had been a reasonably comfortable one for me and I got up at 07.00 feeling refreshed and looking forward to the day ahead. However, it seemed that I was the only one to have had a decent sleep: the others had been ... Read more >

Tags: trekking


Day 112: A day in Vieng Poukha

LAOS | Monday, 25 Feb 2008 | Views [685]

Monday 25th February The trek I had signed up for was to leave from the village of Vieng Poukha, 60km back in the direction of Huay Xai, the border town from where I had come the day before. I only realised that I would have to travel there from ... Read more >


Day 111: Crossing into Laos

LAOS | Sunday, 24 Feb 2008 | Views [759]

Sunday 24th February I was up about 06.30 and grabbed breakfast at the guesthouse, the only one there to enjoy the sunrise over the Mekong. The Laos side of the river was maybe a hundred metres or so away, and I knew it wouldn't take long to make ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 110: Chiang Mai to Chiang Khong

THAILAND | Saturday, 23 Feb 2008 | Views [1592]

Saturday 23rd February I was up and out of the guesthouse by 07.30, making my way to the bus terminal with the intention of getting the 08.30 direct bus to Chiang Khong, the border town from where I could cross the Mekong River into Laos. However, ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 109: Fight night in Chiang Mai!

THAILAND | Friday, 22 Feb 2008 | Views [634]

Friday 22nd February The day started off pretty lazy and continued in that vein into the afternoon. My main priority for the day was to work on the journal, upload photos online and do some research on the crossing into Laos that I was about to make ... Read more >

Tags: Relaxation


Day 108: A new Thai masterchef!

THAILAND | Thursday, 21 Feb 2008 | Views [780]

Thursday 21st February The cookery course was scheduled to start at 10.00, so I got there a bit early and met a few of the guys that were also hoping to pick up a few new tips and techniques, many of whom, I am sure, were thinking that one day they ... Read more >

Tags: Culture


Day 107: Sukhothai to Chiang Mai

THAILAND | Wednesday, 20 Feb 2008 | Views [1568]

Wednesday 20th February The process of packing my bags and checking out of the many rooms I have stayed in has become so routine that it almost becomes automatic. After a while, you come across a system that works well: everything has it's place and ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 106: Suffering Sukhothai!

THAILAND | Tuesday, 19 Feb 2008 | Views [523]

Tuesday 19th February I didn't get up particularly early, figuring that I would rather spend a larger part of the afternoon than the morning time exploring the ruins of the 'Old City'. I wanted to hang about until later in the afternoon, thinking ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 105: Ayuthaya to Sukhothai

THAILAND | Monday, 18 Feb 2008 | Views [1427]

Monday 18th February I didn't get the impression that there was too much to see in Ayuthaya to justify spending more than one night there. I was on the 'old ruins and temples' leg of my journey through Thailand, and had learned from my experiences ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 104: Kanchanaburi to Ayuthaya

THAILAND | Sunday, 17 Feb 2008 | Views [714]

Sunday 17th February I checked out of the guesthouse and took a taxi to the post office to send some stuff home, and thankfully lighten the load slightly (although it has never got too bad). The staff there were extremely helpful and attentive, adding ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 103: A history lesson

THAILAND | Saturday, 16 Feb 2008 | Views [498]

Saturday 16th February I got up feeling refreshed and in the mood for some action. I headed out to the Thailand-Burma Railway Centre, a museum that presented the history of the railway between the two countries. It was designed by the occupying Japanese ... Read more >

Tags: Culture


Day 102: A change of pace

THAILAND | Friday, 15 Feb 2008 | Views [422]

Friday 15th February I woke up to some welcome peace and quiet, and the tranquility of the Mae Nam Khwae Yai (anglicised as the 'River Kwai') in the grey morning put me in a good mood. I felt very relaxed and I had no real desire to do anything other ... Read more >

Tags: Relaxation


Day 101: Bangkok to Kanchanaburi

THAILAND | Thursday, 14 Feb 2008 | Views [747]

Thursday 14th February I checked out of the room and put my luggage in the guesthouse storeroom before making the trip into town to do some of my 'chores'. First up was to buy the 'exchange order' for the Japan Rail Pass. Although I could have got ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Days 99 & 100: Diving and onwards to Bangkok

THAILAND | Tuesday, 12 Feb 2008 | Views [536]

Tuesday 12th & Wednesday 13th February I got up around 06.00, packed up the rest of my stuff, and caught up with the guys who had booked themselves on the dive. There were a few bleary eyes, but we were all excited about it, and it was a lovely, ... Read more >

Tags: Adventures


Day 98: Certified scuba diver!

THAILAND | Monday, 11 Feb 2008 | Views [489]

Monday 11th February I didn't do much before our meeting at 12.30. I got up late and missed breakfast, so ordered   a decent lunch to make sure that I had enough fuel onboard for the afternoon dives. We got out on the boat by 13.30, and ... Read more >

Tags: Adventures


Day 97: Diving to greater depths

THAILAND | Sunday, 10 Feb 2008 | Views [461]

Sunday 10th February I was up early to review some of the homework, but the 07.30 start found me very tired (despite the fact that I had got to bed at 23.00 the previous night). I wasn't sure why I was so groggy, perhaps the diving the day before ... Read more >

Tags: Adventures


Day 96: My first scuba dive!

THAILAND | Saturday, 9 Feb 2008 | Views [506]

Saturday 9th February After breakfast, Glenn, Agata and I reviewed our homework. It was all very uncomplicated stuff, and most of it was common sense really. We watched more of the video and broke up for a few hours, before we went out on the ... Read more >

Tags: Adrenaline


< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next >

About markr_mcmahon

Shaaaape of ye!

Follow Me

Where I've been

Photo Galleries

My trip journals


See all my tags