Existing Member?

Europe2015

We're leaving on a jet plane Tuesday October 6

ITALY | Tuesday, 6 Oct 2015 | Views [242]

Got collected from our hotel at 5.15am this morning, bound for the airport! The joy of international travel.  Rome has been a great way to end our holiday. It's a beautiful city and we've really enjoyed it. We have loved putting our journal ... Read more >


Rome Monday October 5

ITALY | Monday, 5 Oct 2015 | Views [247]

Had a sleep in this morning, our last day in Rome. Took ourselves to the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and Pantheon. We seem to be staying near the consular district, as on our way we walk by the US and Japanese embassies among others. They have immense ... Read more >


Rome Sunday October 4

ITALY | Sunday, 4 Oct 2015 | Views [208]

Spent most of today at the Roman Forum and Colloseum. We had timed it poorly, the first Sunday of the month is free! There were so many people but it all seemed to work well. The outlook from the Palatine gave a great overview of the Roman ruins, and ... Read more >


Rome Saturday October 3

ITALY | Saturday, 3 Oct 2015 | Views [181]

By the time we woke this morning Hawthorn was well in control of the grand final, it started at 6.30am local time. Got score updates from the afl app, but the score didn't sound like it was too exciting. Except maybe for you Matt! We traveled to Rome ... Read more >


Naples Friday October 2

ITALY | Friday, 2 Oct 2015 | Views [214]

Naples (Napoli) won the soccer last night and the city was a mass of fireworks! Woke up this morning to persistent rain. Unfortunately the forecast had been proven right. It suited Scott, who is still struggling to walk (despite the pain killers that ... Read more >


Naples Thursday October 1

ITALY | Thursday, 1 Oct 2015 | Views [231]

We were booked on a tour to Pompeii and Vesuvius today. It was raining a little,  but stopped before our tour. We were to be picked up at the front door of our hotel. When we got there,  it was a mass of Polizei! 4 vans were parked there plus ... Read more >


Naples Wednesday September 30

ITALY | Wednesday, 30 Sep 2015 | Views [207]

We boarded the hop on - hop off bus and went up to Piazzale Michaelangelo. It sits across the Arno River with wonderful views over Florence. It is on the opposite side of the city to that of Fiesole that we been to on Monday. A bronze statue of David ... Read more >


Florence Tuesday September 29

ITALY | Tuesday, 29 Sep 2015 | Views [210]

Scott was no better today so was time to see a doctor. After a referral for X rays, we then had to wait for results. Boarded the hop on - hop off bus again and were intending on going to lunch at a place recommended by Dan. Well, that was the idea, ... Read more >


Florence Monday September 28

ITALY | Monday, 28 Sep 2015 | Views [199]

Hit a pretty major speed hump today, Scott woke up in intense pain from his left foot and couldn't put any weight on it. He wasn't going anywhere. Col played nurse for a bit but we were in Florence. She ventured out and took in the Ponte Vecchio, Palazio ... Read more >


Florence Sunday September 27

ITALY | Sunday, 27 Sep 2015 | Views [247]

Had an easy morning in Vernazza, just filling in time until our train at 11.20. We were off to Florence via 3 trains. The Freccebianca (fast train) service from La Spezia to Pisa showed much different countryside than what we had previously seen. Houses ... Read more >


Vernazza Saturday September 26

ITALY | Saturday, 26 Sep 2015 | Views [215]

After brekky on our terrace, we set out on our walk to Corniglia. There are 5 towns that make up the Cinque Terre, a UNESCO world heritage site, and we were off to another of them. The walk followed a path on the cliffside, which gave us amazing views ... Read more >


Vernazza Friday September 25

ITALY | Friday, 25 Sep 2015 | Views [214]

Left Genoa at lunchtime on our train to Vernazza. The track ran right along the coastline, but we spent most of the time in tunnels, so only got snatches of towns and sea views. A lot of the towns seem to be built on hillsides.  The regional ... Read more >


Genoa Thursday September 24

ITALY | Thursday, 24 Sep 2015 | Views [306]

Today, as they say, was a new day. It was bright and sunny, a good start. On reflection we think yesterday was an aberration. We imagined the port area would be like Marseilles, which it definitely isn't. On our way to get the hop-on hop-off bus this ... Read more >


Genoa Wednesday September 23

ITALY | Wednesday, 23 Sep 2015 | Views [209]

Woke this morning to thunder, lighting and pouring rain. It was by far the coolest day of our trip.  Left Bellagio this morning with Jeannette and Greg and made our way to Milan. They dropped us at the railway station and we boarded our train ... Read more >


Bellagio Tuesday September 22

ITALY | Tuesday, 22 Sep 2015 | Views [189]

We're going our separate ways today, it is Jeannette and Greg's anniversary.  After breakfast at a local cafe, we set out on a town walk. We had a walking guide that said 2 hour walking time, but we managed a little more than the guide said, ... Read more >


Bellagio Monday September 21

ITALY | Monday, 21 Sep 2015 | Views [228]

 Picked up our hire car this morning, an Opel Astra. We barely fitted our luggage in but it was the biggest car they had!  Set off for Bellagio, which is on Lake Como, a little over 300ks. T he countryside is beautiful, lush and green despite ... Read more >


Venice Sunday September 20

ITALY | Sunday, 20 Sep 2015 | Views [204]

A lazy start, we were still tired. We were going our separate ways with Jeannette and Greg today. Jumped on a vaporetto which took us to Murano, an island about 15 minutes away. Murano is home to the glass making industry which was removed from Venice ... Read more >


Photos: Italy

ITALY | Sunday, 20 Sep 2015 | Photo Gallery


See all 34 photos >>
 


Venice Saturday September 19

ITALY | Saturday, 19 Sep 2015 | Views [185]

Sadly we left the ship for the last time today. We disembarked mid morning and dumped our bags at our respective hotels. We purchsed a 2 day bus and vaporetto (water bus) pass that is good for 48 hours. Back to the island where we spent the rest of the ... Read more >


Venice Friday September 18

ITALY | Friday, 18 Sep 2015 | Views [201]

We went up on deck at 11am this morning.  The Maitre d and our waiter had highly recommended watching our approach into Venice on the starboard side. The cruise director rated it in the 3 best ports in the world, along with New York and Sydney. ... Read more >


1 2 3 Next >

About colandscott


Follow Me

Where I've been

Favourites

Photo Galleries

My trip journals


See all my tags