Existing Member?

Europe2015

Spain

There are [27] photos and [15] stories about Spain


See more photos from Spain >


Naples Friday September 11

Friday, 11 Sep 2015 | Views [197]

We are in Naples today. After a leisurely start, we head into the city with Jeannette and Greg. We hadn't really planned anything, but we start walking uphill. And walk. And walk. And walk! (Col is wearing her fitbit, which later tells us we did 17,000 ... Read more >


Citavecchia Thursday September 10

Thursday, 10 Sep 2015 | Views [200]

Awoke in Citavecchia, the port city for Rome. Greg and Jeannette are booked on a bus to go into Rome today, but Col and Scott stay behind. We have 3 nights in Rome to finish our trip and don't want to travel the hour and a half by bus or 1 hour by train ... Read more >


Barcelona Monday September 7

Monday, 7 Sep 2015 | Views [188]

Time to say adiós to Barcelona and Espana. Despite our bad start we found Barcelona interesting but more fast paced than Madrid. Stopped for a coffee in town as it was too early to board our ship. We were all very protective of our luggage especially ... Read more >


Barcelona Sunday September 6

Sunday, 6 Sep 2015 | Views [201]

We spent today touring the city by hop-on hop-off bus. We find it is an excellent way to see the city, but especially in Barcelona is extremely popular. Unlike Toldeo and Valencia there are dozens of buses and each one full. The first bus takes us around ... Read more >


Barcelona Saturday September 5

Saturday, 5 Sep 2015 | Views [191]

After a relatively sleepless night, we started working out a plan of attack. Scott is kicking himself as he had separated his cards, with the travel cards in the mobile phone wallet and the backup cards in his wallet. Made the cardinal sin of having ... Read more >


Valencia and Barcelona 4 September

Friday, 4 Sep 2015 | Views [195]

Woke up to a rarity this morning, it was raining. Scuttled our plans of completing the city tour (there were 2 routes). We had 36 degrees in Madrid and all 30's everywhere else but was quite cool this morning.  Drove to Barcelona, a journey of ... Read more >


Valencia Thursday 3 September

Thursday, 3 Sep 2015 | Views [158]

After a leisurely morning, jumped on the tourist bus and headed for la Oceanografic, an aquarium representing the 5 continents. It is part of a 3 exhibit display at the City of Arts and Sciences (Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias). Quite enjoyed it.... Read more >


Cuenca & Valencia Wednesday September 2

Wednesday, 2 Sep 2015 | Views [186]

Spent the morning walking around the old town of Cuenca. This place is amazing and we are now disappointed we were only here for 1 night. Oh well, we can't do everything! Went back to last night's restaurant for an early lunch,  which turned out ... Read more >


Toledo & Cuenca Tuesday September 1

Tuesday, 1 Sep 2015 | Views [166]

Headed up to Zocodover Plaza this morning to jump on the hop on - hop off bus. Zocodover Plaza is a marketplace that sits high in the old city - that high we were getting escalators to the top. As we're traveling up this massive escalator who should ... Read more >


Toledo Monday 31 August

Monday, 31 Aug 2015 | Views [152]

Hotel Liabeny has been a great base for our 4 days in Madrid which we were sorry to leave. It really has been that good with the staff excellent. We pi cked up our hire car, a Seat of course - we are in Spain afterall - and made our way to Toledo. That's ... Read more >


Avila & Segovia Sunday August 30

Sunday, 30 Aug 2015 | Views [166]

Bus tour today to Avila & Segovia. Avila is a 12th century walled city with 20,000 residents inside the walls and 70,000 outside. It is one of the best preserved medieval cities in Spain and boasts 8 monumental gates, 88 watch towers and over ... Read more >


Madrid Saturday August29

Saturday, 29 Aug 2015 | Views [175]

Today was culture day! We started another beautiful day in sunny Madrid walking to the Museo del Prado. We spent 4 hours immersing ourselves in artworks by Goya, Rubens, Titian, Rafael, Velazquez, Van Dyck and many others. Col's favourite was Rosales ... Read more >


Madrid Friday August 28

Friday, 28 Aug 2015 | Views [211]

We started our day finding our bearings and were pleasantly surprised by the handy location of our hotel which is central to a lot of attractions and eateries etc. On our stroll we discovered the Palacio Real de Madrid, Teatro Real and the opera house, ... Read more >


Photos: Spain

Friday, 28 Aug 2015 | Photo Gallery

Madrid
See all 31 photos >>
 


Madrid Thursday August 27

Thursday, 27 Aug 2015 | Views [259]

A few hassles with flight delays and whatnot we arrived in Madrid via Dubai and London. Waiting at the baggage carousel patiently proved to be in vain in Madrid. Our luggage was still at Heathrow. We were kindly given a lost luggage pack consisting of ... Read more >

Tags: madrid

About colandscott


Follow Me

Where I've been

Favourites

Photo Galleries

My trip journals


See all my tags 
 

 

Travel Answers about Spain

Do you have a travel question? Ask other World Nomads.