Existing Member?

Mark's World Tour 2007-08

India

There are [150] photos and [66] stories about India


< Previous 1 2 3

Day 15: A busy day in Amritsar

Tuesday, 20 Nov 2007 | Views [887] | Comments [1]

Tuesday 20th November As anticipated, I had a pretty bad nights sleep. Not the worst I have had because I was tired from all the travelling the previous day, but the bed was pretty uncomfortable and the noise from outside the dorm was bad (the ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 14: Dharamsala to Amritsar

Monday, 19 Nov 2007 | Views [2151] | Comments [1]

Monday 19th November I had set the alarm for 7.30am but still wasn't sure as I woke up what my plan was for getting to Amritsar. The train seemed to be causing me more hassles in my head, so the bus eventually won out in the end. It turned out ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 13: Last day in Dharamsala

Sunday, 18 Nov 2007 | Views [418]

Sunday 18th November My last day in McLeod Ganj was yet again spent relaxing: reading, sending a few emails, nothing too exciting. I planned my onward journey to Amritsar, a town near the border with Pakistan. I wasn't sure which route to take:... Read more >

Tags: Relaxation


Day 12: Trekking and pub brawls

Saturday, 17 Nov 2007 | Views [740]

Saturday 17th November I felt like doing something a bit more active after lazing about town for the previous few days. As my plan was to head to Amritsar on Monday morning, I didn't have the time to head off for an extended trek, so decided that ... Read more >

Tags: The Great Outdoors


Day 11: Another day of relaxation

Friday, 16 Nov 2007 | Views [568]

Friday 16th November The first thing on the agenda was to pay another visit to the hospital to see the physiotherapist. She did a few tests and concluded that I had particularly tight hamstrings and they were prone to being pulled. So, she gave ... Read more >

Tags: Shopping


Gallery: India

Thursday, 15 Nov 2007 | Photo Gallery


See all 150 photos >>
 


Day 10: Taking it easy

Thursday, 15 Nov 2007 | Views [719] | Comments [1]

Thursday 15th November This was the first day of the trip where I deliberately had very little physical activity planned. I now had little choice given that my leg wasn't working. My main aim was to get this online journal up and running, so I called ... Read more >

Tags: Relaxation


Day 9: A visit to the hospital

Wednesday, 14 Nov 2007 | Views [703] | Comments [1]

Wednesday 14th November The first task of the day was to get a taxi to the Tibetan Delek Hospital to get someone to look at my leg and give me some crutches. Before that, I said goodbye to Jeff who was heading on to Amritsar to see the Golden ... Read more >

Tags: Relaxation


Day 8: First day in McLeod Ganj

Tuesday, 13 Nov 2007 | Views [623]

Tuesday 13th November My first impressions of McLeod Ganj couldn't have been much worse: a dirty, filthy town with packs of dogs roaming the streets. It can only be so good when you arrive in the dead of night, tired and with nowhere to stay. I ... Read more >

Tags: Misadventures


Day 7: Rohtang Pass and onwards to Dharamsala

Monday, 12 Nov 2007 | Views [6605] | Comments [1]

Monday 12th November After checking out of the hotel and grabbling some breakfast, we got on the jeep for Rohtang Pass, meeting our fellow passengers, a group of Indian tourists from Bangalore and Kerala, both in the south of the country. Shortly ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Day 6: A day in Manali

Sunday, 11 Nov 2007 | Views [612] | Video

Sunday 11th November I woke up feeling refreshed after a busy day of travelling and sorting out accommodation, although my cold wasn't helped by the chilly night and lack of central heating anywhere in this part of the world. Another beautiful ... Read more >

Tags: People


Day 5: Journey to Manali

Saturday, 10 Nov 2007 | Views [664]

Saturday 10th November I checked out of the hotel and headed for the bus that would take us to Manali. Thankfully, this bus was what they call a 'deluxe', with fewer and more comfortable seats. Before we left, I met a guy called Jeff from Liverpool ... Read more >

Tags: planes trains & automobiles


Day 4: A day in Shimla

Friday, 9 Nov 2007 | Views [921] | Comments [2]

Saturday 10th November The old saying that 'things will be better in the morning' definitely rang true the first day in Shimla. I awoke to find a beautiful blue sky and rolling hills in the distance as I looked out of the window of my hotel ... Read more >

Tags: Mountains


Day 3: Delhi to Shimla

Thursday, 8 Nov 2007 | Views [967]

Thursday 8th November I didn't do a great deal in Delhi, just got my bearings and acclimatised as much as I could. I hope to come back in a few weeks on my way down south and see the sights with a bit more knowledge of the place. I booked a train ... Read more >

Tags: On the Road


Days 1 & 2: Delhi: First Impressions

Wednesday, 7 Nov 2007 | Views [456]

Tuesday 6th November It took me a while to get my head and gear together once I had rested for a while. I emailed home to let the family know I had arrived safely at my destination(but with a little diversion), and had some dinner in the hotel restaurant ... Read more >

Tags: planes trains & automobiles


The Eagle has landed: Arrival in Delhi

Tuesday, 6 Nov 2007 | Views [579]

Monday 5th November The plane for Delhi was packed, the majority of people were Indians who were on their way home or going back to visit family, while there was a smattering of us whiteys. Things were going well as we left the terminal ahead of ... Read more >

Tags: Airports


View more stories from India
< Previous 1 2 3
 

 

Travel Answers about India

Do you have a travel question? Ask other World Nomads.