Existing Member?

Goodbye New Jersey. Hello World! A record of my journey as I give up my job, my possessions, and life as I know it to go off and see the world!

About lauren_watson

For the last 6 years I have been teaching high school math in western New Jersey where I have lived my whole life.  3 years ago, I discovered just how much I enjoy traveling on my own when I visited California, Arizona and Nevada on a tour. Since then traveling has become adictive for me and I have visited many national parks in the south west and got to camp in Europe this last summer.  6 months ago I visited Budapest, Berlin and Prague with friends (whom I met through traveling) and I realized that I am truly the happiest when I am on the road, out there, ready for the next thing.  I feel the most alive when I am meeting new people, experiencing new things and seeing the beauty of the world out there.  I have decided that it's time to follow my heart, pursue my dreams and go where the wind takes me. 

On June 30th I leave for a globe-trotting trip.  I first go to Ireland, then Scotland, Sweden, Denmark, Poland, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.  On September 10th I have made plans to take the Tran-Siberian railroad through Russia, into Mongolia, and then arrive in China.  I then hope to go to Australia in November where I have a working holiday visa to stay up to a year.  My plans are to find work and then ??? (this ??? scares me to death, since as a math teacher i am extremely Type A personality).  It's the ??? that's driving me.  It's the ???? that is the challenge that I hope to overcome. 

UPDATE:  After 3+ years of being away from home I am now back in New Jersey.  I'm now married to an English man who I met while working in Queenstown New Zealand and we have a 1 year old daughter.  I hope in a few years to set out on a new adventure of sharing my love for travel on my summer holidays with my child.  I thank all readers for your comments and support,and if you are questioning if you should get out there I say DO IT!

My Travel Map:

Contact lauren_watson

In order to avoid spam on these blogs, please enter the code you see in the image.

Enter the code shown: