Existing Member?

My Kenyan Adventure!

Day 17 Wednesday 18th August 2010

KENYA | Monday, 27 Sep 2010 | Views [240]

Well, I would have been back home now if I had not changed my flights- I am SO GLAD I stayed longer (even though I had to pull a few strings with the doctors note!) Today I taught at the Nest as usual then did my second drama workshop at LCC in the ... Read more >


Day 16 Tuesday 17th August 2010

KENYA | Sunday, 26 Sep 2010 | Views [231]

It is a shame I did not have time to write my last week's worth of blogs- as I am sure my blogs will now lack detail because I have been home for so long. However, Africa is just a daydream away...it's still as clear as daylight in my mind. I can still ... Read more >


Day 15 Monday 16th August 2010

KENYA | Monday, 16 Aug 2010 | Views [284]

Today at the nest was so hectic! There was only one teacher there and she was teaching reading. This was the first time Sarah and I actually realised how much we could offer the teacher to enhance the children's education...but the amount of help needed ... Read more >


Day 13 and 14 Saturday and Sunday 14th and 15th August - SAFARI!!

KENYA | Sunday, 15 Aug 2010 | Views [307]

Got up at 5am to leave at 6am...but the truck was over 2 hours late (typical kenyan timing!) We were all so excited! The journey there was so bumpy, fast, dangerous and long. It took us 5 hours to drive to the Masai Mara!! But it was a good chance to ... Read more >


Day 12 Friday 13th August 2010

KENYA | Friday, 13 Aug 2010 | Views [277]

This morning I went to The Nest and did some team teaching with Sarah for Maths. It was great!! We did a subtraction song for the starter, the teacher wrote down notes so I think we taught her something! The children were very engaged and enjoyed the ... Read more >


Day 11 Thursday 12th Augusr 2010

KENYA | Thursday, 12 Aug 2010 | Views [292]

Today we went to The Nest and LCC again...did the usual stuff! Taught children more games and songs. I was mainly in the kindergarten classroom which was good but I am so glad I chose to teach juniors!! But the children were so tiny and so cute :) They ... Read more >


Day 10 Wednesday 11th August 2010

KENYA | Wednesday, 11 Aug 2010 | Views [255]

Today we were not going to our usual projects but we were to go to the local feeding program in the village of Limuru for the destitute and the elderly. I was very open minded and excited to go to this today as I had seen pictures from past volunteers ... Read more >


Day 9 Tuesday 10th August 2010

KENYA | Tuesday, 10 Aug 2010 | Views [218]

Today was the earliest start so far! We all had to leave at 7.30am to go to the slums. The journey took 1hr and a half but it was very interesting looking at all the buildings through Nairobi and the scenary (AND THE MORNING TRAFFIC!) We arrived first ... Read more >


Day 8 Monday 9th August 2010

KENYA | Monday, 9 Aug 2010 | Views [188]

I was poorly again today! I was sick this morning whilst gtting up to go to the project so decided to get myself some rest and stay off project. So generally today I have been taking it steady, done some reading by the fire, watched some films on tv, ... Read more >


Say 7 Sunday 8th August 2010

KENYA | Sunday, 8 Aug 2010 | Views [201]

We had a very early start this morning as we were driving to the baby elephant and giraffe orphanage!!! The weather was good but the journey was crazy! Bumpy roads and very dodgy driving....but it all added to the experience! We arrived on time and the ... Read more >


Day 6 Saturday 7th August 2010

KENYA | Saturday, 7 Aug 2010 | Views [321]

Got up this morning feeling much better and excited to go to the African Wedding! We were all panicking about what to wear because we had only brought our 'scruffs' but charity, one of the African Impact coordinators, told us that no one dresses up for ... Read more >


Day 5 Friday 6th August 2010

KENYA | Friday, 6 Aug 2010 | Views [310]

Today has been one of the 'worst' days...I woke up feeling very heavy headed and shivery. This made me feel really upset because I thought I had got better yesterday. But I soldiered on...got up, had a shower, had some breakfast (almost half asleep) ... Read more >


Day 4 Thursday 5th August 2010

KENYA | Thursday, 5 Aug 2010 | Views [255]

I FELT SO MUCH BETTER THIS MORNING :) YAY! Today we decided to go to Limuru Children's Centre for a change of scenary to 'The Nest'. There we helped mostly with food preparation- sorting through rice and beans and also packaging the maize, beans and corn ... Read more >


Day 3 Wednesday 4th August 2010

KENYA | Wednesday, 4 Aug 2010 | Views [424]

Today we decided to go to 'The Nest' again where we had the opportunity to work in the kindergarten, we being myself and Sarah. We were so excited to have had the opportunity to work with the little children again! (especially after having taught them ... Read more >


Day 2 Tuesday 3rd August

KENYA | Tuesday, 3 Aug 2010 | Views [303]

It feels like i have been here weeks because i feel so settled in< everyone is friendly and getting along with each other< the projects are amazing and the locals are just so nice! So i can hardly believe it's only day 2! Anyway, woke up 7am today.... Read more >


Day 1 Monday 2nd August 2010 Email message I sent on my first day!

KENYA | Monday, 2 Aug 2010 | Views [449]

Hi all! the flight was on time and my seat was perfect, WAS NEAR TH WINDOW SEAT AND HAD LOADS OF LEG ROOM!!! LOTS OF FILMS TO WATCH AND LOTS OF MOUNTAINS TO LOOK AT OUT OF THE WINDOW :)  YOU WILL ALL BE PLEASED TO KNOW THAT I WAS USING THE 'MAP AND FACTS' ... Read more >


About blondeburtie123


Follow Me

Where I've been

Photo Galleries

Highlights

My trip journals