Existing Member?

Mark's World Tour 2007-08

Tags

There are [0] photos and [18] stories tagged with "Sightseeing".


Day 106: Suffering Sukhothai!

THAILAND | Tuesday, 19 Feb 2008 | Views [529]

Tuesday 19th February I didn't get up particularly early, figuring that I would rather spend a larger part of the afternoon than the morning time exploring the ruins of the 'Old City'. I wanted to hang about until later in the afternoon, thinking ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 79: Onwards to KL

MALAYSIA | Wednesday, 23 Jan 2008 | Views [521] | Comments [1]

Wednesday 23rd January I checked out of the hotel and took the local bus to the Melaka Sentral bus station, just in time to hop on the 11.00 coach to KL. The buses are very comfortable here, and the motorways as good as anywhere else, making the journey ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 77: A day in Melaka

MALAYSIA | Monday, 21 Jan 2008 | Views [450]

Monday 21st January The night had been warm and humid, and the fan stayed on for most of it. I had been used to air-con in my room when I stayed with Mark & Jess in Singapore, and the lack of it would be ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 73: Museums and bacon sandwiches

SINGAPORE | Thursday, 17 Jan 2008 | Views [396]

Thursday 17th January Although the MRT makes things easy and quick to get about town, I prefer to use my feet so you get to see more of the place close up when overground. It also helps to get your bearings. I walked to Chinatown, where I came across ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 72: A lesson in Singaporean history

SINGAPORE | Wednesday, 16 Jan 2008 | Views [390]

Wednesday 16th January I once more set out on a mission to see more of the cultural and historical side to the city. Since I didn't get round to eating breakfast, I made my way back to Orchard Street – I just couldn't avoid the place, and was starting ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 71: Sightseeing and yet more shopping

SINGAPORE | Tuesday, 15 Jan 2008 | Views [380]

Tuesday 15th January I managed to get up at a more reasonable time, with a 9am start bettering the efforts of the previous few mornings. After the by now standard coffee break, I once more made a visit to Orchard Street in an effort to put an end once ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 57: New Year's Day

INDIA | Tuesday, 1 Jan 2008 | Views [401]

Tuesday 1st January Fort Cochin is famous for the Chinese fishing nets that line the shoreline at the north end of the peninsula, so I took a walk along the seafront pathway after breakfast to see what was going on there, take some photos and look ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 35: A day in Mumbai

INDIA | Monday, 10 Dec 2007 | Views [514]

Monday 10 th December I had originally little intention of spending any time in Mumbai, having had my fill of big, noisy, polluted cities. However, my first impressions of the place were surprisingly good. It looked similar to a European ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 32: A relaxing day in Udaipur

INDIA | Friday, 7 Dec 2007 | Views [420]

Friday 7th December I woke up feeling refreshed but with little compulsion to do a great deal having rushed about Rajasthan for the last two weeks, feeling well and truly 'forted-out'. I went for breakfast in the hotel restaurant and got speaking ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 26: Riding high in Jodhpur

INDIA | Saturday, 1 Dec 2007 | Views [410]

Saturday 1st December After a good sleep and breakfast on the rooftop of the guesthouse - with the blue houses packed on top of one another all around forming the view - I took another trip to the Meherangarh Fort and bought a ticket for the audio ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 24: At last, some peace and quiet!

INDIA | Thursday, 29 Nov 2007 | Views [349]

Thursday 29th November Pushkar is a pretty small town, reminding me in some ways of Dharamsala, but with less to see and do. Both towns have a considerable amount of tourists, with Pushkar possibly more heavy on the number of hippies floating ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 22: The Pink City of Jaipur

INDIA | Tuesday, 27 Nov 2007 | Views [354]

Tuesday 27 th November Having spoken to an English guy at the hotel in Agra about Jaipur, it didn't seem like a place to stay for too long. I was keen to enjoy the hotel and make the most of what I had paid for, but it would have been a pity not ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 21: Fatehpur Sikri and on to Jaipur

INDIA | Monday, 26 Nov 2007 | Views [524]

Monday 26th November Another of the recommended highlights near Agra was a now deserted fort complex designed and built by a Mogul emperor in the 17 th century, and situated in the town of Fatehpur Sikri. On the bus there, I met a couple from ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 20: A visit to the Taj Mahal

INDIA | Sunday, 25 Nov 2007 | Views [491] | Comments [3]

Sunday 25th November Thankfully my ticket on the 6am train to Agra - home of the Taj Mahal - was for a sleeper carriage, so I was able to get some more shut-eye after a 4.30am start. The journey was 3.5 hours south of Delhi, to the town in the ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 19: Last day in Delhi....thank God!

INDIA | Saturday, 24 Nov 2007 | Views [363]

Saturday 24th November Booking onward train tickets online can have its frustrations, despite it being much easier than the experience I had at the booking office in Amritsar earlier in the week. Despite the huge amount of trains going between ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 18: More sightseeing in New Delhi

INDIA | Friday, 23 Nov 2007 | Views [312]

Friday 23rd November Having got my bearings a bit better the day before, I set off for another trek about town. I tried to avoid public transport as much as possible, even though it is very cheap. A lot of the time, I prefer to walk to get some ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 17: A different side to Delhi

INDIA | Thursday, 22 Nov 2007 | Views [398]

Thursday 22nd November I spent the morning moving to another hotel down the road, as it was cheaper and better value than the place I stayed the night before. It's also in a busier part of town - the bazaar - which means you have to run the gauntlet ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing


Day 15: A busy day in Amritsar

INDIA | Tuesday, 20 Nov 2007 | Views [596] | Comments [1]

Tuesday 20th November As anticipated, I had a pretty bad nights sleep. Not the worst I have had because I was tired from all the travelling the previous day, but the bed was pretty uncomfortable and the noise from outside the dorm was bad (the ... Read more >

Tags: Sightseeing



See markr_mcmahon's most popular tags >